quick question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Have an old house, we put a new window in and now need to make good.
From the photos I have uploaded here, I hope to show the situation.
I have created a ledge for a sheet of plasterboard to rest and was just going to fix it up as shown in the last pic. Is that OK for the plasterer like that or do I need to feather the top back edge so it lies more flush with original ceiling?
I was also going to squirt a load of foam around the frame and stone work to fill all the gaps up.

Sponsored Links
I am new to plastering but I was always under the impression that plasterboard needed to be firmly fixed on all sides. Don't know if it's photos but why do you want the angle?

Looking at it, would it not be better to remove the window architrave before the plasterer does the making good. That way you will have the architrave covering up the join between plaster and wood of the window frame. I believe a joint between plaster and wood will usually crack as they both have different expansion rates. So the architrave will go over the joint and cover any cracks that may appear.

I would say best bet would be to speak to your plasterer and maybe send him first and last image and see what he suggests.

If he arrives and it's wrong then he has more work/time than he quoted you for so best to ask him.

Let us know what the outcome is as it may help people in future.

Hi and thanks for your reply.
This is a tricky one to make good sympathetically. The old window was a sliding sash and the new one is a casement. The new one is about half the depth of the old one. So before the PB sat behind the architrave and went vertical to meet the old sloping ceiling.
But with the new window, to make the PB run behind the architrave and vertical means that it no longer meets the ceiling.
The ceiling PB runs down to a length of old timber that supports the roof timbers.