DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

fault code f5 on Viessman Vitodens 100

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Carlton74

from United Kingdom

Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Location: Birmingham,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 9:30 pm Reply with quote

hi lads anyone know the fault code f5 on viessman vitoden 100 cheers
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
mysteryman

from United Kingdom

Joined: 05 Jun 2010
Posts: 1664
Location: Shropshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 233 times

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 9:41 pm Reply with quote

***********

You need to be GaSafe registered to do this work.
Back to top
The following user says thank you to mysteryman for this useful post:
Carlton74 (28 Nov 2010)
 Alert Moderators
Moderator 10
Moderator Comment
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 11:19 pm    Comment:

Please note rule 10 (Posts covering DIY gas work are not allowed.) - See here for the forum rules.

 
gas4you

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 17605
Location: Norfolk,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 747 times

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 9:57 pm Reply with quote

Jimmy flapper
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
mysteryman

from United Kingdom

Joined: 05 Jun 2010
Posts: 1664
Location: Shropshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 233 times

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 10:47 pm Reply with quote

It is exactly as I said earlier - **********an F5 fault.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Moderator 10
Moderator Comment
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 11:23 pm    Comment:

Please note rule 10 (Posts covering DIY gas work are not allowed.) - See here for the forum rules.

 
mickyg

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 15933
Location: Hertfordshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3195 times

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 11:20 pm Reply with quote

*********
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Moderator 10
Moderator Comment
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 11:22 pm    Comment:

Please note rule 10 (Posts covering DIY gas work are not allowed.) - See here for the forum rules.

 
Agile

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 52863
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3326 times

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:48 am Reply with quote

Mr Carlton, its in the book what this fault code means.

But as explained above because it involves opening the combustion chamber you should call a registered boiler engineer.

The interesting question is should you leave it out!

An amusing comment from one of MM's colleagues was that its a manufacturers part which is fitted to the boiler, later models have it not fitted from new. Therefore the part should be refitted because at the time of manufacture viessmann did fit them.

Tony
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Agile

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 52863
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3326 times

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:50 am Reply with quote

Of course you could always call viessmann and ask them but the advice is still to get a registered engineer.

Tony
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
mysteryman

from United Kingdom

Joined: 05 Jun 2010
Posts: 1664
Location: Shropshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 233 times

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:44 am Reply with quote

The Service and Installation book for the Vitodens 100 type WB1A contains an unfortunate entry. For F5 it states "Air pressure switch fault". This is a poor translation. It should read "Air pressure switch not satisfied". The fault is almost always a sticking air flap above the fan, and, as the Moderator says, you need to call a serviceman in. He should check for leaks at the heat exchanger flue outlet.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Agile

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 52863
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3326 times

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:50 pm Reply with quote

But it could always be a faulty air pressure switch.

However, based on practical experience of these boilers its virtually always caused by a sticking flap.

The amusing question is should it be just removed ! My answer is yes but that was not what MM's colleague said!

Tony
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
mysteryman

from United Kingdom

Joined: 05 Jun 2010
Posts: 1664
Location: Shropshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 233 times

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 3:22 pm Reply with quote

No.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
andy.budgell

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 120
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:14 am Reply with quote

Morning Gents,

I have F5 on my boiler this morning too.

I had a boiler engineer look at it yesterday and he said its a viesmann call out job. Still trying to get through to them, engaged tone, since 8am.

The boiler is 2.5 years old, will they come out at all?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
gas4you

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 17605
Location: Norfolk,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 747 times

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:26 am Reply with quote

Sounds like he just doesn't know what it is.

Bet it's the jimmy flapper on yours as well. Simple fix.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
andy.budgell

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 120
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:27 am Reply with quote

andy.budgell wrote:
Morning Gents,

I have F5 on my boiler this morning too.

I had a boiler engineer look at it yesterday and he said its a viesmann call out job. Still trying to get through to them, engaged tone, since 8am.

The boiler is 2.5 years old, will they come out at all?


If its a sticking flap, what is causing it to stick?? Gunk?
If so, would a hoover do the job?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
andy.budgell

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 120
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:30 am Reply with quote

gas4you wrote:
Sounds like he just doesn't know what it is.

Bet it's the jimmy flapper on yours as well. Simple fix.


Sounds like it could be, whats the fix?

I did mention about flappy after looking at these forums yesterday but he said that there was nothing to indicate any serviceable parts inside the case bit and taking the cover off would mean replacing the gasket which he didnt have on him?

Edit: Viesmann said its still under warranty and have called an engineer, will update later with his findings.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
andy.budgell

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 120
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:05 pm Reply with quote

F5 is Fixed!!

Warranty Boiler engineer came out under warranty.

The small square flappy thing sits on a rubber seal. Over time, this rubber seal sweats and becomes sticky with use. When the flap rests on it for a time when the boiler is off, it sticks to the sticky seal! The fan cannot blow it off, thus the air pressure switch says no go as we cant get the exhaust gases out of here!

The solution is to remove the rubber seal with a stanley knife!

New parts have a different design whereby it doesnt rest on the rubber seal at all, but a small nodule thus reducing the chance to stick.

Job done, warm house back!!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Viessman vitodens 100 hot water but no heating 2 40 Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:15 pm
Viessman vitodens 100 ( F4 ) 12 8360 Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:42 am
Viessman Vitodens 300 Error codes 4 2540 Fri Mar 19, 2010 7:26 pm
VIESSMAN VITODENS 200W(35kW), ATAG E32C or VAILLANT 837 ? 39 12900 Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:26 am
Viessman Vitodens 100 with Santon cylinder - no hot water 6 120 Tue May 06, 2014 2:00 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.