Shower valve leaking at inlet feeds soooo annoying!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all this is my 1st post of what I am sure will be many!
I'm a kitchen fitter by trade but 2 months ago took on a job converting a mid 80's end of terrace into 2 dwellings (1 bedroom flats).

The new shower unit is the current issue and I've tried giving it almost 20 turns with ptfe tape but it still leaks on the 22mm to 15mm reducers for both hot and cold inlet feeds
Hot is from a brand new Vailiant EcoTec Pro28 and cold is mains fed.

I've been reading about Loctite 55 which I'd never heard of until last night whilst googling leaky showers!
Do you think it will solve my issues or even large tap washers or similar with 3/4" hole?!

Here's a pic to show you the problem

View media item 71456
View media item 71457
Thanks in advance and I will write a post up detailing the job, problems encountered along the way, sound insulated false ceiling systems and will ask a few general questions I've pondered whilst doing this project!

I've never done anything on this scale alone (other then my best friend/client) helping me, who is also new to this property development malarkey :)

RM

Sponsored Links
20 turns means it must be a really sloppy fit. I use both Loctite 55 and PTFE (not at the same time!). Both really need a half decent fit to start with. I would be inclined to swap the reducers for another make or if the reducers came with the unit I think you may be missing washers! - check the box!

I like what I've read about Loctite55 but cannot get it locally from anywhere........ Thinking about now going for 572??

The reducers didn't come with the shower and are from Wickes but have tried one from Screwfix and an independent plumbers and still the same!

Washers would be ideal but local plumb center said he didn't have anything suitable and to use 12/15 turns of ptfe