Worcester Greenstar 28i junior - Possible Water Hammer?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Whenever our combi-boiler (Worcester Greenstar 28i junior) turns OFF, it makes quite a noise. This is tolerable during the day but it is very disturbing at night when the boiler periodically comes on (presumably to keep things moving or pre-heat the water, not sure). It seems to echo along the pipes and where they enter the house (the boiler is in the garage) is right below our bed.

it's an abrupt shut-off noise, followed by a rapid series of tapping/clunking. It only lasts a few seconds but it is very annoying!

I'm guessing the noise is water hammer, though I'm no expert. I've stood next to the boiler when it turns off and the noise seems to be coming from the boiler itself (though again, I'm no expert).

Can anyone give me any ideas on what to try? Could it be the boiler itself or is it likely that I'm hearing an echo along the pipes?

Sponsored Links
1.5 at the moment (right in the middle of the green), though I've let it drop to around 1 and it's made no difference.

Is this when you use Hotwater? If so check it does it from another tap if it doesn't it's your washer in your tap

If it does have you got a vessel on the cold water incoming? This can help this issue.

Sponsored Links
It is when I use hot water but it doesn't happen when I turn a tap off, it happens when the boiler stops firing.

So if I ran one (any) of the hot taps, the boiler would come on. If I turned off the tap, the boiler would continue firing for another 30 seconds or so and then switch off making the knocking noise.

I don't know about a vessel on the cold water incoming. How could I tell?

I do know that the cold water taps seem to turn on and off with a lot of pressure - there's usually a thud when I turn them on or off. Could that be related?