Y Plan - 2 pumps

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
The bungalow I've recently moved into had to have the heating on to get hot water, the indirect hot water cylinder was in parallel with the central heating with a wax thermostat to shut it off when it reached temperature.

This was inconvenient and frankly useless.

Today I added a V4073A mid position valve, Honeywell ST9400C programmer, Danfoss Programmable room stat and a Honeywell tank stat.

Used a Honeywell wiring centre and it all works perfectly, just hot water, heating or both. I'm quite chuffed as I've never done any plumbing before. Electrically qualified so the control wasn't a problem.

While wiring I found a 2nd pump I never new existed.

So my question is, as this pump is downstream of the mid position valve it will be trying to pump nothing when it's on hot water only.

Will this cause problems?

If so can I use the Room stat output to control the 2nd pump so that it only runs when the heating is on? This will only be live when heating is called and the stat is closed?

I can't see why not, just wanted to ask first and see if anyone could tell me how 2 pumps are normally controlled with a Y Plan setup.

Thanks for any advice.

Rob.

Sponsored Links
On a correctly configured Y Plan a 2nd pump is not required. It would be best removed and a piece of pipe used to fit gap. I assume that it's downstream on the heating circuit.

If you're going to wire second pump in come off the orange from the 3 port valve. This means it will only pump when heating is called for and valve has opened fully to the heating circuit.

Sponsored Links
If you're going to wire second pump in come off the orange from the 3 port valve. This means it will only pump when heating is called for and valve has opened fully to the heating circuit.

Wouldn't orange be live whenever the boiler is on, hot water or heating?

From Honeywell:- Valve wiring configuration is:
White = Heating on
Blue = Neutral
Grey = Hot water off