Recommend chimney cowl?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I need to cap off a couple of chimney pots. Can anyone recommend whats best to use?

Ive been looking at the C-caps. Anyone used these?

Also I have 2 chimney breasts, downstairs a gas fire and a removed fireplace(vented), upstairs I have 2 disused fireplaces.

As a complete novice, how do I find out which chimney pots serve which fireplace? The last thing I want to do is cap the gas fire.

Is it as simple as turning on the gas fire and feeling for heat or smelling for clues?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Jack

Sponsored Links
Smoke test the vents, you can get pellets from plumb centre or some builders merchants.

Vented terminals are best for closing off redundant flues imo.

piccy

But what's the benefit? I've never had a problem leaving them open - and there are millions of them out there that don't.

The house is an ex-council house (1920-30s). Had a few damp problems and suffers from heat loss.
Just trying to improve as many of the problems as possible.

Was hailstoning the other night when I was putting my boy to bed and could hear hails pinging down the fireplace in his room, thought 'this doesnt sound great'

Sponsored Links
But what's the benefit? I've never had a problem leaving them open - and there are millions of them out there that don't.

The Building Research Establishment (BRE) recommends disused chimneys should be capped off at the top with a ventilated capping.

Where a disused chimney is left uncapped, it is open to the UK weather, which annually can be relied upon to deposit several feet depth of water down the average chimney. This can give rise to damp stains appearing internally and over time it contributes to steady internal deterioration of the fabric of the stack.