DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Adaptor For Christmas Lights

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
olly_k

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 May 2005
Posts: 264
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 6 times

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:53 pm Reply with quote

why can he not use a dc adapter? I would suggest an ac adapter was used because dc is an unnecessary expense for this design.

Please at least offer an explanation before using derogatory smiley's icon_sad.gif

Just to add volts may be a little high so a lower setting or series resistor may be nescesary but apart from that I can't see any other problem!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
ColJack

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 11773
Location: West Midlands,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 408 times

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:50 am Reply with quote

because the lable for the lights asks for a 4.5V AC 50hz supply..

do you stick leaded in your diesel car?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
DazJWood

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Posts: 70
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 8:56 pm Reply with quote

Does anyone know of the best place to buy a AC adaptor that would power these?

Thanks,

Daz
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
dannyboi2003

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 501
Location: West Glamorgan,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 16 times

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:01 pm Reply with quote

Daz, I might have one in my box of spare transformers. I'll have a look the weekend and let you know, if you find one no probs but i'll have a look when im up the attic anyway. ATB - Dan.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 46647
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1685 times

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:46 pm Reply with quote

DazJWood wrote:
Does anyone know of the best place to buy a AC adaptor that would power these?


Click
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
DazJWood

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Posts: 70
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 8:27 am Reply with quote

dannyboi2003 wrote:
Daz, I might have one in my box of spare transformers. I'll have a look the weekend and let you know, if you find one no probs but i'll have a look when im up the attic anyway. ATB - Dan.


Thanks for your help!

ban-all-sheds wrote:
DazJWood wrote:
Does anyone know of the best place to buy a AC adaptor that would power these?


Click


I am well aware of google thanks and have already searched on there to find them at 3 times the price I bought the lights at. I asked because I thought some of the experts may have been able to recommend a specific outlet.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
olly_k

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 May 2005
Posts: 264
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 6 times

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:12 am Reply with quote

You will NOT get an ac adapter like this AFAIK there is no market for such an output. You could build your own but that IMO is beyond casual DIY. You can ignore my advice but you can send the lights to me if you like I will connect them up to DC icon_wink.gif

Seriously the person who said not to connect to dc has not given a good reason the only problem maybe that 4.5v dc might be too higher voltage depending whether there are inline resistors or not. Also as I said if leds are alternatively connected in reverse polarity only half would work, which half would depend on the polarity of the connection.
There may be something more exotic in that plastic box but no harm will come by hooking DC especially if you start off at 3v or so, which most adustable adaptors allow.
Now if you would have read my earlier post you would be able to tell us more and we might be a little 'brighter' for it. However, perhaps what you need to hear is this - in the future tell your wife to be more wary before buying incomplete electrical items from B&Q icon_wink.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 46647
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1685 times

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:16 am Reply with quote

olly_k wrote:
You will NOT get an ac adapter like this AFAIK there is no market for such an output.

I wonder why Maplin sell them then...

Back to top
The following 10 users say thank you to ban-all-sheds for this useful post:
freddo (7 Sep 2012), magicmushroom666 (20 Jan 2010), 1john (19 Jan 2010), toasty (19 Jan 2010), Fred_Fanackapan (16 Jan 2010), ccam108 (16 Jan 2010), plugwash (15 Jan 2010), oompah (15 Jan 2010), dannyboi2003 (15 Jan 2010), dingbat (15 Jan 2010)
 Alert Moderators
ColJack

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 11773
Location: West Midlands,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 408 times

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:24 am Reply with quote

I have given a perfectly reasonable explanation..
it says AC on the lights so you give it AC.. icon_rolleyes.gif

for all we know that little box does nothing but rectify it to DC.. in which case yes a DC supply wouldn't hurt it, but it could also be for flashing the lights and use the 50hz as a clock to step through the flash patterns..
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 46647
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1685 times

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:34 am Reply with quote

ColJack wrote:
for all we know that little box does nothing but rectify it to DC..

I wonder if the OP has an oscilloscope?


Quote:
in which case yes a DC supply wouldn't hurt it

You'd need to allow for the difference between P-P and RMS voltage when selecting your DC adapter.....
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
olly_k

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 May 2005
Posts: 264
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 6 times

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 1:09 pm Reply with quote

ColJack wrote:
I have given a perfectly reasonable explanation..
it says AC on the lights so you give it AC.. icon_rolleyes.gif

for all we know that little box does nothing but rectify it to DC.. in which case yes a DC supply wouldn't hurt it, but it could also be for flashing the lights and use the 50hz as a clock to step through the flash patterns..


Hmm, which would mean that a capacitor would be required to isolate the part that counts pulses so dc would have absolutely no effect. Also there would have to be at least a half wave rectifier to convert to dc for the extra circuitry. Anyway this is a method used maybe minimum 30 years ago to keep the time on a vcr or timebase in a telly these days heck of a lot cheaper to use a microprocessor which again works off dc. AC is specified because dc is not required and would be a considerable expense in mass manufacture.

Seems BAS has found the answer so hats off to him icon_biggrin.gif Oh but to answer the other question bas I did suggest OP select 3v instead of 4.5V however I bet if you measure the AC voltage of the supplied transformer even under load it will be more than 4.5V (RMS) icon_wink.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 46647
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1685 times

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 1:18 pm Reply with quote

olly_k wrote:
Seems BAS has found the answer so hats off to him icon_biggrin.gif


Click.

Back to top
 Alert Moderators
plugwash

from United Kingdom

Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 8478
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 207 times

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:09 pm Reply with quote

ban-all-sheds wrote:
olly_k wrote:
Seems BAS has found the answer so hats off to him icon_biggrin.gif


Click.


sneaky
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 46647
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1685 times

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:35 am Reply with quote

icon_mrgreen.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
dannyboi2003

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 501
Location: West Glamorgan,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 16 times

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 8:54 pm Reply with quote

Hey Daz, I had a look in my box of spares over the weekend and i dont have any suitable transformers sorry. The one bas linked to from maplins should do the job for you tho!
Back to top
The following user says thank you to dannyboi2003 for this useful post:
DazJWood (19 Jan 2010)
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
GU10 testing adaptor (inc. other types) 13 460 Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:50 am
13A to 5V adaptor is this allowed? 17 1900 Tue Apr 06, 2010 6:07 pm
RCD adaptor plug and CU RCD 5 400 Thu Apr 15, 2010 1:22 pm
AC adaptor 9 240 Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:40 am
Extending Maplin Multi Voltage Regulated AC/DC Adaptor 2 120 Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:30 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.