DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Sky remote - volume control


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Audio Visual
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Willa

from United Kingdom

Joined: 13 Jan 2007
Posts: 125
Location: Gloucestershire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:49 am Reply with quote

Help please,

I am about to purchase an LCD flat screen.
We have Sky plus with an old CRT wide screen, which was set up a while back and the Sky volume control works fine.
If I a buy a new flat screen, how can get the volume control to work on the existing Sky remote?
Can I just plug the HDMI cable in or do I need codes.

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
SparkoJon

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 226
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 18 times

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:52 am Reply with quote

Hi,

You need codes - Press Services and help i think - in there you can get instructions on how to re-program the remote- very simple really..

Press and hold Select and Red - wait for flash - enter number, press select..
Back to top
The following user says thank you to SparkoJon for this useful post:
Willa (25 Oct 2010)
 Alert Moderators
Willa

from United Kingdom

Joined: 13 Jan 2007
Posts: 125
Location: Gloucestershire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:43 am Reply with quote

Thanks Sparko.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
SkyDave

from United Kingdom

Joined: 30 Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Location: Manchester,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 2 times

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 2:27 pm Reply with quote

What the make of the TV you're getting/got?
Back to top
The following user says thank you to SkyDave for this useful post:
Willa (2 Nov 2010)
 Alert Moderators
ericmark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 7681
Location: Flintshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 652 times

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 10:25 pm Reply with quote

My Panasonic was easy to tune in. But the Aldi TV I have given up with I can't find codes. Some sets I have been able get the remote to part work.
Back to top
The following user says thank you to ericmark for this useful post:
Willa (2 Nov 2010)
 Alert Moderators
Willa

from United Kingdom

Joined: 13 Jan 2007
Posts: 125
Location: Gloucestershire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 12:09 pm Reply with quote

Many thanks for the replies.
The reason I ask, is I have Tesco cheapy upstairs on a seperate Sky package fron downstairs. Try as I might, even with a code, I cannot get the volume tuned to the Sky remote, although the remote works for all other functions. So I am a bit dubious about spending a lot on a downstairs TV.
I hope to spend about 500-600, not sure what type though.
May just go to Curry's and pay them to set it up.

Thanks again
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
SkyDave

from United Kingdom

Joined: 30 Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Location: Manchester,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 2 times

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 5:09 pm Reply with quote

Hi,

A sky remote should tune into any major TV brand with ease. E.G. Sony, Panasonic, Samsung, LG, Hitachi, Sharp.

If you get one of these and have any issues, drop us a line and I'll talk you through it.

In my humble opinion, LG and Sony are untouchable but the rest are a close second and equally good value for money.
Back to top
The following user says thank you to SkyDave for this useful post:
Willa (4 Nov 2010)
 Alert Moderators
SparkoJon

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 226
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 18 times

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 2:29 pm Reply with quote

before you decide to spend money - have you tried one-for-all remotes? These are usually good - from past exp...
Back to top
The following user says thank you to SparkoJon for this useful post:
Willa (4 Nov 2010)
 Alert Moderators
Willa

from United Kingdom

Joined: 13 Jan 2007
Posts: 125
Location: Gloucestershire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 1:17 pm Reply with quote

Many thanks everyone for taking time to reply.
I shall bite the bullet, and go to Curry's, they only to hapy to help (once they have your cash)
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Audio Visual All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
volume control on tv 4 240 Tue Oct 05, 2010 6:17 pm
volume on remote not working 5 240 Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:29 pm
Better headphone volume. 7 160 Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:39 am
Technics seperates volume problems 4 340 Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:36 pm
Roberts Rd-50 DAB Radio Sound/Volume Issue 12 260 Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:43 am


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.