DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

AEG cooker and oven installation

This topic originated from the How to page called Installing a cooker hood
Click here to return to the page called Installing a cooker hood.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
crea

from United Kingdom

Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Location: Lancashire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 8:06 pm Reply with quote

Hello all,

Just purchased an AEG ceramic glass induction hob (7.4 kW) and oven (3 kW) and am looking to install them.

Having read around the message board, am I right in thinking that I can do this on one new radial circuit, using 10mm2 cable from a 45 amp mcb in my consumer unit to a double pole cooker control unit near to the cooker? Then run 10mm2 cable to two (one for each appliance) terminal outlet boxes, if so, do both cables from the terminal outlet boxes get connected together in the cooker control unit? Also the instruction manuals for the appliances mention using specific cables to connect to the appliance terminal blocks, H05VV-F or H05RR-F for the oven and H05BB-F Tmax 90 (or higher) for the hob, what are these?

Finally the instruction manual for the hob also states that a protective floor must be installed under the appliance and the appliance must be protected from steam if an oven is fitted below, any ideas where I can obtain the above from, the built in cooker kitchen unit I bought from Ikea did not contain any such items.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Steve

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 15905
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 220 times

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 8:20 pm Reply with quote

A 32A MCB would suffice for the hob, with 6mm˛ cable, but it never hurts to put in 10mm˛.

The oven should be supplied seperately, from a 13A FCU, or it can be plugged in (yes, plugged in) to a normal socket

What we did is wire a socket to the cooker circuit, so the control switch also turns the socket off. wiring to the socket needs to be 6mm˛. You could use an FCU on the cooker circuit instead of a plug and socket.

If you do put the hob and oven on the same circuit, I would use a 40A MCB and 10mm˛ cable to the switch. Then use 6mm˛ cable from the switch to the socket/hob.

not sure about the protective floor. contact the manufacturers.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
crea

from United Kingdom

Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Location: Lancashire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 9:24 pm Reply with quote

Hi Crafty,

Thanx for the speedy reply icon_biggrin.gif !

Sorry if I come across as being a little bit stupid icon_redface.gif , but am new to this and obviously it being electrics, I want to make sure I get it right! To clarify, I put a 40 amp MCB in my consumer unit, run 10mm2 cable to the cooker control unit, have two 6mm2 cables connected to the load side of the CCU, one running to a 13 amp? FCU for the oven and the other wired directly into the terminal block of the hob?

Once again thanx in advance.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
andy

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 3971
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 2 times

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 9:30 pm Reply with quote

yes, but connecting 2 6mm T&E to the cooker control might be a pain in the a**e. go for a 2gang sized without switch to give you more space
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
crea

from United Kingdom

Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Location: Lancashire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 9:59 pm Reply with quote

Hi Andy,

Thanx for the clarification, one more question, the cable from the FCU to the terminal block on the oven, what size should it be, can I use 2.5mm2 or should it also be 6mm2? Do the cable codes stated in the appliance instruction manuals and mentioned in my original query mean anything to you?

Cheers!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
crea

from United Kingdom

Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Location: Lancashire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:31 pm Reply with quote

Hello again all,

Just been and had a look at my CU and have found two unused MCB's (house was rewired last year and the circuits these ran are no longer used) one is a 16 amp and the other a 32 amp. Would a better solution be to run 2.5mm2 cable from the 16 amp MCB to a 13 amp FCU for the oven and 6mm2 from the 32 amp to a CCU for the hob, giving each it's own circuit? Also, regarding the cables to be used to connect the FCU to the terminal block on the oven and the CCU to the terminal block on the hob, is it OK to use standard 2.5mm2 and 6mm2 respectively, or do I need to find out what the codes mentioned in the appliance instruction manuals mean and use those?

Thanx again.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Steve

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 15905
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 220 times

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:38 pm Reply with quote

crea wrote:
Hello again all,

Just been and had a look at my CU and have found two unused MCB's (house was rewired last year and the circuits these ran are no longer used) one is a 16 amp and the other a 32 amp. Would a better solution be to run 2.5mm2 cable from the 16 amp MCB to a 13 amp FCU for the oven and 6mm2 from the 32 amp to a CCU for the hob, giving each it's own circuit? Also, regarding the cables to be used to connect the FCU to the terminal block on the oven and the CCU to the terminal block on the hob, is it OK to use standard 2.5mm2 and 6mm2 respectively, or do I need to find out what the codes mentioned in the appliance instruction manuals mean and use those?

Thanx again.

this is a good idea.

32A for the hob, wired in 6mm˛ cable. With cooker switch above worktop.

16A for oven. wired in 2.5mm˛. With switched FCU ABOVE worktop, and flex outlet plate behind oven.

I think there is a table in "for reference" to show what the cable codes mean. Have a look in that, but only use these cables from the appliance to the outlet plates. I wouldn't think it was nessecary anywhere else.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
andy

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 3971
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 2 times

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:28 am Reply with quote

crea wrote:
Hello again all,

Just been and had a look at my CU and have found two unused MCB's (house was rewired last year and the circuits these ran are no longer used) one is a 16 amp and the other a 32 amp. Would a better solution be to run 2.5mm2 cable from the 16 amp MCB to a 13 amp FCU for the oven and 6mm2 from the 32 amp to a CCU for the hob, giving each it's own circuit? Also, regarding the cables to be used to connect the FCU to the terminal block on the oven and the CCU to the terminal block on the hob, is it OK to use standard 2.5mm2 and 6mm2 respectively, or do I need to find out what the codes mentioned in the appliance instruction manuals mean and use those?

Thanx again.


even better. you can use 1.5mmT&E from 13A FCU if you wanted, altho i would keep it at 2.5
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
crea

from United Kingdom

Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Location: Lancashire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 9:00 pm Reply with quote

Thanx Guys!

Assistance very much appreciated!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
gordman

from United Kingdom

Joined: 29 Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Bradford,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 4:25 pm Reply with quote

Thanks for the advice, they are very practical. I never was good with plumbings, that's why I try to pick up best [url=]appliance parts[/url] when buying, to avoid plumbing situations as much as possible.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Steve

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 15905
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 220 times

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 4:29 pm Reply with quote

gordman, you've put 3 posts on this forum. Your third is a blatant advert. Why?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
electronicsuk

from United Kingdom

Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 3314
Location: Lincolnshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 275 times

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 5:44 pm Reply with quote

gordman wrote:
Thanks for the advice, they are very practical. I never was good with plumbings, that's why I try to pick up best [url=]appliance parts[/url] when buying, to avoid plumbing situations as much as possible.


I never were good for english grammar.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
oven installation, "All Pole Connection Unit???" 20 3800 Sat Feb 14, 2004 6:33 pm
electric oven installation 3 1260 Fri Jul 02, 2004 11:47 pm
built under oven installation 4 100 Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:18 pm
electric oven installation 3 120 Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:53 am
Bosch Multifunction Oven - 3.5Kw Installation - HELP! 22 380 Tue May 14, 2013 3:53 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.