DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Electorlux Ceramic Hob - 2 rings not working

This topic originated from the How to page called Installing an electric cooker
Click here to return to the page called Installing an electric cooker.
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DomManley

from United Kingdom

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Bristol,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:07 am Reply with quote

Hiya all,

I wonder if someone can help me... I have an electrolux ceramic hob CM600BLK. We wired it an and everything was okay but only 2 of the rings are working. I phoned the customer call centre and they told me i have to connect a copper horseshoe link, but they cant give me any more advice. Does anyone know what i am supposed to be doing with it?

Thanks
Dom
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 36455
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1322 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:41 am Reply with quote

if you look at the connector block under the hob I expect you will find it has about four large terminals. There might be colours or letters by them. The instructions ought to tell you how to connect them. The horseshoe will be a piece of copper that links two or more together. The manufacturers should supply it.

if you can post a pic of the connector block it may help.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
DomManley

from United Kingdom

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Bristol,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:53 am Reply with quote

Hi John,

You are right. there is 4 terminals. The instructions are useless.. it just says get someone in to do it! Its only connecting wires!!!

The horseshoe doesnt seem to be connected to anything at the moment. Am i supposed to move it and connect 2 terminals?

pic as attached



thanks for your help[/img]
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 36455
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1322 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:00 am Reply with quote

I might go between 1 and 2 but it would be fooish of me to guess... and foolish of you to believe me.

ask the manufacturer again.

I am concerned that I don't see an earth wire. and i can't see how the cable sheath is clamped to prevent it tugging on the terminals
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
DomManley

from United Kingdom

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Bristol,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:02 am Reply with quote

earth is connected in the terminal after number 4. its taped up with electrical tape... sorry bad photo!!!

2 is the only terminal that currently has nothing going on with it.....
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 36455
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1322 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:07 am Reply with quote

buy yourself a hank of green & Yellow sheathing at your electrical or hardware store for the bare earth wire.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
DomManley

from United Kingdom

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Bristol,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:18 am Reply with quote

will do.

so do we think connecting the terminal 1 and 2 together with the copper horseshoe would work?

the company website is shocking! I cant find anywhere to find tech support!!

I have called the helpline but i keep going round in circles!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Diyisfun

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 6374
Location: Norwich,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 194 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 1:12 pm Reply with quote

My guess is you have a hob for multiple phases.
You dont need to sleeve the earth, just route it so it cant touch anything.
Neutral is neutral
The live(s) link together. Its very common to find manufactures to make cookers / hobs like this
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
davy_owen_88

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 1680
Location: West Glamorgan,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 1:22 pm Reply with quote

Diyisfun wrote:
You dont need to sleeve the earth, just route it so it cant touch anything.


Rubbish! You do NEED to sleeve the earth for identification purposes if nothing else.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Diyisfun

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 6374
Location: Norwich,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 194 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 1:55 pm Reply with quote

The instructions probably state to use high temp cable as well, which is 3 core sleeved..
Also can anyone install a hob or do you have to Peedd?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
CallEdsFirst

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 355
Location: Cambridgeshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 2:11 pm Reply with quote

If the live terminal is correctly wired, there is likely to be only one other terminal a horseshoe shaped link could reach! It sure as hell ain't likely to go from one outer terminal to the other!

And earth needs to be sleeved for many reasons, including adherence to regs!

Instead of DIYforfun, try DangerousInstallationTipsforfun!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
CallEdsFirst

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 355
Location: Cambridgeshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 2:13 pm Reply with quote

DomManley wrote:
it just says get someone in to do it! Its only connecting wires!!!


Ironically getting someone in because they have the knowledge of how to do it so all rings work might have been more sensible! icon_lol.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Diyisfun

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 6374
Location: Norwich,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 194 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 2:22 pm Reply with quote

Its got 2 x ll's you know the rest of the letters, put them in order + stop trying to be smart r's with the having the last word.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
shelleygar33

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 3:33 pm Reply with quote

Hi Just read all the above a found the info really useful. I just purchase the same cooker hob and had exactly the same problem and after reading the advice installed without any problems. Just wanted to say thanks. !!! icon_lol.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Diyisfun

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 6374
Location: Norwich,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 194 times

PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 7:19 am Reply with quote

Its always nice to get a thank you. icon_lol.gif
From all of us.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Cooker rings suddenly stopped working; repair or buy new 3 380 Sat Jan 09, 2010 4:00 pm
FCUs, Spurs and Rings 3 720 Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:53 pm
Metal Retaining Rings for Halogen Lights 3 360 Sun Jul 09, 2006 5:05 am
two rings on one fuse? 11 840 Fri Dec 01, 2006 4:18 pm
What is wrong with rings 6 480 Thu Jan 11, 2007 5:41 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.