DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

External PIR Light Problem

This topic originated from the How to page called Adding a new light and switch
Click here to return to the page called Adding a new light and switch.
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Trem

from United Kingdom

Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Location: Staffordshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:58 pm Reply with quote

Hi guys, first post so go easy.

I have fitted an external halogen light with PIR , I have gone from the existing main wiring (not light wiring as it didn't have earth). I have used a 30A junction box and run from that (2.5mm twin core and earth) into a 3A FCU (none switched). All went well and there seemed to be no problems apart from......the light won't work. Have I made any glaring errors in what I have done? I have not checked the bulb as yet and I am hoping that is the problem but it is never that easy.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
luminaire

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 704
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:52 pm Reply with quote

Check the bulb first and if still no joy get back to us.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
breezer

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 23328
Location: Sussex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 26 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:09 pm Reply with quote

luminaire wrote:
Check the bulb first and if still no joy get back to us.


Thats a bright idea.

(breezer gets coat)
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ricicle

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Posts: 6290
Location: Gloucestershire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 374 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:13 pm Reply with quote

Sometimes halogen lamps can be put in apparently correct but the ends just are off contact from the live/neutral nibs at one or both ends.Just double check this to be sure.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Trem

from United Kingdom

Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Location: Staffordshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:14 pm Reply with quote

I was doing it at my mums and by the time the light wasn't working I just wanted to get out of there. She was watching me up the ladder screeching "BE CAREFUL LOVE!" and everytime I went inside to check the wiring the heating that she had set to 'Saudi Arabia' made me melt.

I will mess with the bulb tomorrow and let you know guys.

Cheers.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
breezer

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 23328
Location: Sussex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 26 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:16 pm Reply with quote

its a lamp, not a bulb, and dont touch it with your fingers, use a small piece of paper folded in half, then poke it round the lamp then hold the paper
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Trem

from United Kingdom

Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Location: Staffordshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:18 pm Reply with quote

Yeah, its a hard habit to get out of. My tutor often screamed "BULBS ARE PLANTED IN THE GARDEN!"

I know about the not touching the lamp, used kitchen roll to hold it when I inserted it.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Trem

from United Kingdom

Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Location: Staffordshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 2:31 pm Reply with quote

Checked everything outside, light is fine and so is the lamp, well they don't work still when I swap them with a new light so I can't see me having 2 duff lights and bulbs.

The problem is at the fuse spur, I have power going in but it is blowing the fuse so obviously no power going out, I tested this with the light connected and disconnected and outside there is definitely no power.

Any ideas what could be causing the fuse to instantly blow? Is this a case of rewiring the whole thing in case there is a break? I have rewired the junction box onto another source and used 20A one this time but it is exactly as it was before.

Any help appreciated.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Steve3948

from United Kingdom

Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 152
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:52 pm Reply with quote

How have you connected your light ?????
Most PIR Lights have connections that you do not connect to, they are for internal links between PIR and Light.
Sounds like a Live to Neutral fault.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
breezer

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 23328
Location: Sussex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 26 times

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:29 pm Reply with quote

you dont mean the fuse in the FCU do you? what size is it?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
luminaire

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 704
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:05 pm Reply with quote

How did you wire the FCU?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Trem

from United Kingdom

Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Location: Staffordshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:07 am Reply with quote

The light only has L, N and E and it has no dials to set the walk distance or daytime/night time activation. Just a PiR with a light with only 3 internal connections.

I have gone from the source (socket ring) into a junction box, out of that into the FCU then out of the FCU through the wall outside then into the light. I have a 3A fuse in the FCU. I have checked everything twice and everything is wired as it should be, the only thing I haven't checked yet is the wire from the FCU that goes outside.

I do get power going into the FCU but none going out/getting past the fuse as it blows as soon as power is turned on.

There are no wires touching and everything is where it should be, apart from the one I haven't checked yet, but in my mind it seems to be a problem before the outside wire.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Steve

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 15895
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 220 times

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:22 am Reply with quote

luminaire wrote:
How did you wire the FCU?


If you're not sure, post a picture of your wiring.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
festa

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Posts: 212
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 5:25 am Reply with quote

O.k first thing first...
What wattage is the lamp ?
Second...
Go buy yourself a multimeter and double check the length of cable for the section between FCU and luminair for continuity.
Third...
Try changing the FCU plate for a new one as sometimes cheap makes could be faulty and while your at it for future convienience pay a few extra pennies and buy a SWITCHED FCU as some security lights have a facilty to switch it on perminantly if you want to.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
DESL

from United Kingdom

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 937
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 7:05 am Reply with quote

Quote:
I have gone from the source (socket ring) into a junction box, out of that into the FCU then out of the FCU through the wall outside then into the light. I have a 3A fuse in the FCU. I have checked everything twice and everything is wired as it should be, the only thing I haven't checked yet is the wire from the FCU that goes outside.



Has this cable been damaged?

Did you replace this cable?

Is it run in conduit or straight through the wall?

If not could this be the reason the old light failed.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
External cable problem 5 360 Mon Nov 02, 2009 4:31 pm
External garage power socket - already have a light in there 3 340 Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:20 pm
External Security Light With PIR Sensor 9 2280 Tue Mar 17, 2009 7:24 am
Wiring in an external light 2 460 Thu Jan 01, 2009 5:17 pm
Protecting cable on external light 2 300 Sun Oct 11, 2009 2:31 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.