What's the best location for a CH thermostat?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Ours is currently in the hall. Is this still the current thinking? I recall someone telling me (probably in the pub :LOL: ) that it is best to have is in the 'main living space. Ours is now wireless so no proble to move it.

Thanks

Mark

Sponsored Links
it needs to be in the room that's slowest to heat up, and where the radiator is constantly on, without a TRV.

The room should not have other heat sources, such as an open fire or a cooker, as this will turn off the heat for the rest of the house.

living rooms are usually the warmest room in the house so might not be suitable.

but halls are often cold and draughty... i don't know!

I'll leave it where it is, if it ain't broke... etc. etc.

I must resist the the urge to move it, just because I can :LOL:

I'll leave it where it is, if it ain't broke... etc. etc.

I must resist the the urge to move it, just because I can :LOL:

I'm no expert, but I can tell you the worst place to put one. My brother reckons mid way up the stairs in the hallway is best - Wot a load of rubbish!!!

I tried to explain hot air rises so the thermostat will react to the rising warm air and not the "Average" room temperature. No wonder my folks suffer from rheumatoid arthritis.

Oh did I mention he's a Gas Engineer - Glad he didn't fit / locate the thermostat at my place.

Sponsored Links
down the hallway away from the front door as the draught from the door will constantly keep it cool

get a wireless 1 and selotape it to yourself.

not only will the room you are in always be at a comfortable temperature but you can pretend to be a robot and dance like peter crouch . get in!!!

Tape it to your leg and make your M8`s think you`re a dead hard Tagged asbo guy :idea:

HiOnChee";p="1453962 said:
I tried to explain hot air rises so the thermostat will react to the rising warm air and not the "Average" room temperature.