DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

How to change a shower pull cord switch??

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stevebosh

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Pembrokeshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:09 pm Reply with quote

Hi,
I need some help please!!??

I have removed a pull cord switch with two Live cables, two Neutral and two Earth. The old switch also has load on one side and feed on the other. The new switch I bought only has mains on one side so I just want to make sure if the mains side is the feed or load?

In case you are wondering i had to change the switch because the cord snapped inside the switch which cannot be fixed.

Thank you very much,
Steve
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
RF Lighting

from United Kingdom

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 17523
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 946 times

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:10 pm Reply with quote

Does it just say mains, or mains in / mains out?

It is unusual for only one side of the switch t be labelled.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Steve

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 15948
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 221 times

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:11 pm Reply with quote

WHAT???? That wasnt very clear.

Your old switch, what terminals did it have?

Your new switch, what terminals does it have?

The wires you have - were all of the lives and "neutrals" connected to the switch? If so in what configuration?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
stevebosh

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Pembrokeshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:00 pm Reply with quote

Just has Mains on one side. Both switches are exactly the same other than the labels
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
RF Lighting

from United Kingdom

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 17523
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 946 times

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:02 pm Reply with quote

I would reckon that mains is feed, and the non marked side is load.

Are there markings to distinguish L & N terminals?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
stevebosh

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Pembrokeshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:06 pm Reply with quote

thanks for a quick reply!! Yeah Two 'L' and two 'N' terminals are clear.
Im gonna try and fit it now so I can have a shower in the morning!
If i have it wrong would a fuse blow?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
RF Lighting

from United Kingdom

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 17523
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 946 times

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:08 pm Reply with quote

You really do not want to take that approach to wiring. You should make sure that you get things right, not rely on a blowng fuse to tell you its wrong.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
securespark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 25167
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 436 times

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:10 pm Reply with quote

Because sometimes the fuse may not blow....
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
stevebosh

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Pembrokeshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:14 pm Reply with quote

OK. I was just going to put the new switch in the same way as the old one but wasnt expecting different labels. Just to complicate things more the two earth terminals are on the mains side on the new switch. On the old one the earth terminals are either side
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
securespark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 25167
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 436 times

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:35 pm Reply with quote

Can you post a picture?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
stevebosh

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Pembrokeshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:55 pm Reply with quote

just taken some pictures but not sure how to upload?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
RF Lighting

from United Kingdom

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 17523
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 946 times

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 9:05 pm Reply with quote

Click on my signature to find out how icon_biggrin.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
stevebosh

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Pembrokeshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 9:13 pm Reply with quote

[img][/img]

[img][/img]

first image is old one, second is new
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
RF Lighting

from United Kingdom

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 17523
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 946 times

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 9:17 pm Reply with quote

'mains' is the supply (from the consumer unit)

The other side is the load (to the shower)
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
stevebosh

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Pembrokeshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 9:23 pm Reply with quote

So mains is also feed? Does it matter which earth cables are connected to the terminals?
Thanks for your help!!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
How to change a shower pull cord switch 11 12460 Wed Oct 27, 2010 11:21 am
wall light with pull cord switch - change of light 6 1700 Wed Jan 04, 2006 5:27 pm
change pull cord to wall switch???? 7 1140 Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:42 pm
Change a pull cord to a 2way plateswitch 6 80 Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:21 pm
change bathroom pull switch to standard switch. 5 800 Mon Jun 23, 2008 10:16 am


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.