cooker in bits

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, hope someone can help out here!

Im trying to build a DIY vacuum former which requires a fair bit of heat over a large area so I was planning on ripping some cookers apart and using the elements from them.

Ive managed to get my hands on some old cookers from the dump and taken them apart to get the elements and all parts from them out. and all the internal wiring seems simple enough the bit im not so sure of (and due to the voteges and currents involved I dont want to experiment!) is connecting it up to the mains.

The first thing I want to do is make a small test bed and try each pot and heating element on their own to make sure they are working so could anyone give some advice on how I would go about this?

If theres any details you need to know, power ratings etc, let me know and ill get them asap.

Sorry if this has been asked before or this isnt the place to ask, im new in these here parts!

Sponsored Links
We made a vacuum former years ago as I worked in domestic appliance development we had all the bits.
We finished with the elements being mounted in a box on a chain (so it could be swung to give gentle heat) we also had the elements controlled by energy regulators (the cooker control knob).
The plastic sheet was held by metal strips with clamps, & we had a big tank to store the vacuum, when the sheet got soft it was lowered to the former, switch the vacuum & yup protype vac form.
The elements you have will all be 220v this should be stamped on the end & so should the wattage. You want black heat evenly distributed. Hope this is enough info to get you going

cheers, im not really anywhere near the former design stage at present but ive got a few ideas in mind.

The bit im needing more help on is the wiring of the elements, energy regulators and the mains power. Any circuit diagrams would be most helpful!

a random aside, whats difference between an energy regulator and a potentiometer? :confused: