DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Can a 150w PIR light be upgraded to a 300w


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
garrymum

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 651
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:21 am Reply with quote

Hi guys

I purchased the following outside light a couple of months ago

https://www.screwfix.com/prods/99280/Lighting/Floodlights/Controlled-Floodlighting/IQ-Hi-Lo-PIR-Floodlight-150W

I am now wishing I had opted for the 300w version. Can I just upgrade the bulb to a 300w or will there be some internal differences?

Thanks
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 35925
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1248 times

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:25 am Reply with quote

no, the tube is bigger.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
garrymum

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 651
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:27 am Reply with quote

JohnD wrote:
no, the tube is bigger.


Hi,

What, the 300w bulb is actually bigger? The once I have been looking at are both described as 80mm tubes available in 150 / 300w
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Chri5

from United Kingdom

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 3991
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 341 times

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:40 am Reply with quote

The lamp is bigger and hence it won't fit icon_rolleyes.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
securespark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 24728
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 420 times

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:39 pm Reply with quote

Even if you found a 300W linear tube that would fit, the fitting is only rated to 150W.

Problem...
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Trog

from United Kingdom

Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Posts: 46
Location: Bedfordshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 6:29 pm Reply with quote

Page 9 of the manual for the lamp as linked from the Screwfix web page says it will take a 300W R7S bulb.



Back to top
 Alert Moderators
soaringjock

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 118
Location: Middlesex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 2 times

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:06 pm Reply with quote

Page 9 of the manual for the lamp as linked from the Screwfix web page says it will take a 300W R7S bulb.
USURE?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
securespark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 24728
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 420 times

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:12 pm Reply with quote

There are two models listed in that spec.

The 150 model will take 150W. The 300 model will take 300W.

Which have you got?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 35925
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1248 times

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:25 pm Reply with quote

on the lamps I've used, the 300W and the 500W are the same size, and the 150W is smaller.


Go and have a look in a shop to see.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Trog

from United Kingdom

Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Posts: 46
Location: Bedfordshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:46 pm Reply with quote

You are right I took the code numbers to be the order numbers for the bulbs, but on reflection they are for two versions of the lamp. Note 2 in particular would be way clearer if they had added 'depending on which model you have' to the text.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
old consumer units need to be upgraded? 6 560 Fri Apr 13, 2012 1:18 am
Do I need an electician when having the en-suite upgraded? 6 160 Mon Jan 17, 2011 7:27 pm
Electric meter being upgraded by DNO 9 880 Sat Jun 02, 2007 1:02 am
Upgraded supply for a new shower? 8 180 Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:25 pm
Do I need this upgraded first?? 26 1800 Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:00 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.