Oil Heating: Boiler won't start after running out of oil

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, i have unfortunately allowed my oil to run out and can't get my boiler to start up again. I have refilled the tank with oil and bled the valve on the boiler to get rid of any airlocks, which a friend advised me to do. I then hit the reset button on the boiler and held it in for a few seconds but nothing happens. There is no noise at all coming from the boiler, its completely dead. I've already tried to call an engineer out to have a look but can't get one avaliable. I have a 7 month old baby and we are getting desperate as we've no heating. I'm thinking i may be overlooking something simple like another switch to press to fire up the boiler. I've got basic plumbing knowledge but not with boilers. Could anyone please help.
Thanks

Sponsored Links
What is the make/model of boiler? after pressing the reset button on burner does burner try to start up/make any noise at all? are any lights on the boiler iluminated.Have u tried pressing the overheat reset?this is usually under the control panel when the main door is removed/open and is a small plastic brown button,is boiler getting a demand for heat from timer etc?

Hi, the only name on the Boiler is warmflow which i assume is the make, can't see any other names. After/when pressing the reset button the boiler doesn't make any noise at all, its completely silent no clicks or nothing. There is a white box on the wall beside the boiler that has a light which is illuminaed when i switch on the water or heating from the programer/timer. I'm not sure what u mean by control panel or where it is. When i take the cover off the boiler there is the bleeding valve and the reset button, i can't see any other brown button or overheat button. I turned the HW and Heating on from the programer/tiimer so there is a demand for it.