Replace 3 Gang Switch with 2 Gang Switch

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Could someone do me a diagram for wiring a 2 gang switch with two live feeds please?

I've currently got a three gang switch which I'm taking one light off and moving to a separate switch. Fortunately that leaves me with two cables feeding in for my two gang switch but I've only wired a two gang using a four core cable before (copying what the real electrician did).

I'm not a complete novice and I haven't blown myself up yet so sensible answers only please ;)

Sponsored Links
easiest way to do it is to remove light fitting, put junction bx where it was, and leave the switch as it is. if ever you want o cahnge it back you can.

If you really do want to change the switch copy do as my signature says, then change the switch, except obviously you will only have 2 switches to connect not 3

my only concern is the light youare removing, i hope it isnt the one which supplies the others

breezer said:
my only concern is the light youare removing, i hope it isnt the one which supplies the others
She said "I've currently got a three gang switch which I'm taking one light off and moving to a separate switch.", which I take to mean that she's leaving all the lights alone, and moving the switching of one of them to a separate switch elsewhere.

DIYSparkyEve said:
Fortunately that leaves me with two cables feeding in for my two gang switch but I've only wired a two gang using a four core cable before (copying what the real electrician did).
1) If you only have 2 cables going to a 2-gang switch, then I would disagree with your opinion that it is "fortunate", as 2 is approximately half the number that you need. It's not the "remote" end of a 2-way switching circuit is it, i.e. the one without the switch cables, just the ends of the strappers? What are the 2 cables that you have?
2) I'd love to know how you can wire a 2-gang switch with a 4-core cable - what sort of cable was it?