Ford Fiesta idling problems...help!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Wondering if anyone can help.

I have an R reg Ford Fiesta 1.4 Zetec. Its a great motor for the better half, but suffers from stalling when idle or waiting at lights etc. Today I've had the bonnet up and listened to the engine.

I am no mechanic, but this is what I "hear":

- Engine seems to start idling fine but within seconds starts to "rise and fall", like its chasing its correct idling speed. It then drops quite suddenly to low revs then rises slowly and sits there fine.

- I then depress the accelerator a few times and all seems ok, then its off hunting again for its final idling speed, then it drops quite suddenly almost to stalling but seems to grab it before completely stalling, then climbs again.

I dunno if that makes sense to anyone. I've been googling and reading up, and air cleaner was suggested, and I've checkd that and its fine (inc connectors etc). The filter itself is brand new. I've checked for breaks in hoses, no problems as far as I can see. The only thing left is the throttle sensor someone mentioned on another forum, but I wanted to get your take on whats going on here?

Any help, very much appreciated in advance and thanks for taking the time to reply, its most appreciated if you can.

kind regards

Greg

Sponsored Links
I had the same fault with my Fiesta. The garage replaced the stepper motor to rectify stalling.

Excellent info 141 really appreciated! Any clues how much that comes in at at the garage and if its doable DIY?

£90 including labour but It was 5 years ago. Sorry I am no mechanic, so weather it is a DIY job I am clueless.

Sponsored Links