DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Memera fuse problem


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Caspian Rho

from United Kingdom

Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Location: Antrim,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:03 pm Reply with quote

Hi firstly icon_biggrin.gif

Just need some info on changing a fuse in a Memera 2000 (AP4) box?

We had a toaster malfunction earlier this evening, even though it didn't trip any other switches on the box or the box itself. Our shower now seems to have stopped working with no power going to it whatsoever (Redring expressions 500).

We've had no faults with the shower until tonight. So I can only surmise the toaster burning out somehow effected the shower fuse (but no other fuses in the box show any signs of being effected?)

I'm not a qualified electrician. Other than changing a few plugs and the odd 'fat' fuse. Electric boxes are something I won't tamper with too much.

If someone can instruct me briefly how to get the fuse out, that would be brilliant. Any help is greatly appreciated, Thanks for your time.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
333rocky333

from United Kingdom

Joined: 12 Jan 2008
Posts: 4131
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 263 times

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:11 pm Reply with quote

Memera 2000
Thought they were mcb's not fuses
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Caspian Rho

from United Kingdom

Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Location: Antrim,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:16 pm Reply with quote

lol probably the reason I can't see where to change the fuse!
How do the MCB's work?? Do they need changing like a fuse if there is an appliance problem?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
333rocky333

from United Kingdom

Joined: 12 Jan 2008
Posts: 4131
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 263 times

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:34 pm Reply with quote

they should all be sort of in line
ie all normally pointing the same way

Cant remember mem
But is upwards on most mcb types
If you get what I mean
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
securespark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 25152
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 436 times

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:07 am Reply with quote

The OP probably has BS1361 fuse carriers in his MEM 2K board.

See here:

http://www.electrika.com/products/m/man-0260/pdftech/2005-protective-dev.pdf
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
333rocky333

from United Kingdom

Joined: 12 Jan 2008
Posts: 4131
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 263 times

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:20 am Reply with quote

securespark wrote:
The OP probably has BS1361 fuse carriers in his MEM 2K


Are they the black ones with two coloured dots on
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
securespark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 25152
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 436 times

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:41 am Reply with quote

Nope. Thats Memera 21.

See the PDF. There are HRC fuse carriers for the Memera 2000 range.

The OP mentions "fat fuses". They sound like 1361's to me...
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
333rocky333

from United Kingdom

Joined: 12 Jan 2008
Posts: 4131
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 263 times

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:54 am Reply with quote

I did but i missed them icon_smile.gif

Found em
Ac10
never ever seen them before


Last edited by 333rocky333 on Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:59 am, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Caspian Rho

from United Kingdom

Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Location: Antrim,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:59 am Reply with quote

the 'fat' fuses I mentioned was in reference to the most experience I've had with fuse boxes lol (they're our central heating ones on the memea 3 box!)

the 2000 box has the little grey pluggy things AD32B is the shower plug one. But like I said none of the other electrics on the 2000 were effected, just the shower one (so I don't know if it is the box or shower!)

I'm not sure how to change the grey pluggy boxes or if indeed that's the problem.

Cheers icon_biggrin.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Adam_151

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 5810
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 140 times

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:15 am Reply with quote

AD32B is a 32A B curve BSEN60898 circuit breaker, it doesn't have to be replaced after each use like a fuse does, it has a lever on the front, down is off and up is on, just make sure its properly in the off position and then push it back up to the top and the power should come back on icon_smile.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Caspian Rho

from United Kingdom

Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Location: Antrim,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:58 am Reply with quote

Thanks for the replies lads. All switches are up, turned off and then up just to make sure they click to on.

There still seems to be no power going to the shower. It has a cord to pull off and on, would I be right in saying this can burn out or maybe it contains some sort of fuse?? The shower is a Redring Expressions 500?

cheers
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Caspian Rho

from United Kingdom

Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Location: Antrim,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:35 am Reply with quote

Does anyone have any other suggestions?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
kkynaston

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Dec 2007
Posts: 319
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:16 am Reply with quote

Can you post a picture of your consumer unit/fuseboard?

Does you shower pull switch have a neon light on it?
If so does it illuminate when the pull the chord?

If not and you say they all your MCB's are on, then you may have a loose connection. You would need to isolate the supply and check all connections.



If in doubt, call a qualified spark icon_razz.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Caspian Rho

from United Kingdom

Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Location: Antrim,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:21 pm Reply with quote

hi thanks for the reply. Ended up calling a 'sparks' anyway. which was always the intention lol

Just wanted to know what I was dealing with beforehand. That old adage 'seen you coming' was what I was trying to avoid.
Thanks kkynaston, seems your diagnosis was spot on. Loose connection in the cord switch itself which burned out the switch.

Again thanks for all the help!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
memera fuse box 2 500 Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:02 pm
MEM MEMERA CART. FUSE - Drop in Replacement Circuit Breaker? 8 540 Sun Aug 08, 2010 8:38 am
Shower / Memera 2000 fuse box trip 8 880 Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:19 pm
memera 2000 fuse box 19 8600 Thu Sep 22, 2005 7:20 pm
memera 3 5a fuse 9 180 Wed Oct 09, 2013 7:44 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.