Footings and Cavitys Querie

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone, hope everyone is well,

I have been a plumber for the last 6 years and a plasterer for the last 2 but after receiving 3 very over priced quotes for building my small extension i have decided to have a go myself.

My previous building experience goes a far as building a new garden wall which i must say i am very proud of it looks fantastic, so the brick laying side of things does not bother me, my questions are as follows;

1 When my footings are in place how far below ground level do i start with the engineering bricks ???

2. I am planning on a 50mm cavity, as i said this is a small extension so space is at a premium, or is there a minimum size for the cavity ???

My footings are going 1mr down as i am in close proximity to an anglian water sewer pipe so have to go down lower than that.

Any advice you could provide me with will be greatly appreciated, :)

Sponsored Links
[quote="staningrimsby";p="868474"
1 When my footings are in place how far below ground level do i start with the engineering bricks ???
whatever masonry will be visible once soil/grass/patio is reinstated. if the ground level deviates, then account for this with the brickwork.

2. I am planning on a 50mm cavity, as i said this is a small extension so space is at a premium, or is there a minimum size for the cavity ???
we are now using 100mm cavities with full fill dritherm cavity batts. you may be able to make the cavity smaller by using a rigid board insulation but don't count on it.

My footings are going 1mr down as i am in close proximity to an anglian water sewer pipe so have to go down lower than that.

generally a 1m dig is satisfactory. however, foundations that are in close proximity to drainage pipes do need to be lower than the drain invert.
Any advice you could provide me with will be greatly appreciated,

:)[/quote]