new plumber getting started

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone i'm Darren.
Just joined up to this forum but hope to get to know you all in the near future. I am currently studying to be a plumber with OLCI and i'm almost halt way through.

What i was wondering is does anyone know the best way to get all the tools i'll need to be a plumber. I mean can you find retireing plumbers and get there tools on the cheap or is it break the bank buy everything knew and hope it lasts.

Would appreciate a tool bag list as well so i know what to buy for the essentials. eg pipe bender, flux blow torch etc etc.

Would you also find a company or plumber to work with when i qualify or go straight away self employed starting off with little jobs to build my confidence.

Many thanks dazza

Sponsored Links
I was in the same situation as you six years ago. I can tell you what I did, and you can mull it over. I worked for a local plumber, doing a lot of more menial installation work he didn't want to do. I mostly worked alone and had to think on my feet a lot... but all good experience. I almost entirely worked exclusively for him for about 18 months, but when work came my way I did them myself. I then did more work with another kitchen/bathroom fitter, and word spread, and I have usually been quite busy.

It is well worth buying a reliable van. I've never gone for a showroom gleamer but you want something that isn't gonna let you down too much. Depending upon the type of work you are going to undertake, I don't think your van can ever be too big. I have a LWB Hi-top transit and still it gets full when carrying extra kit about.

You will need the basic tools, a lot of which I had before I started, but it is often the case that you need to buy tool X for a certain job... unless you can borrow one... hiring works out expensive if you are going to use it 3 or 4 times...