new consumer unit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I was looking to install a new unit as the one that i have is forty years old.
I have run new ring circuit cables and new lighting circuit cable and they are ready to connect to the consumer unit, but i want to install a new con.unit.(10 mcbs)
Any info, on disconnecting the old one.
Please note that i am not an electrician and the quotes that i have received are a joke?

Sponsored Links
someone is going to have to pull the service fuse

technically you are supposed to get the rec to do it but in reality this is usually both expensive and impractical (or sometimes even impossible when everyone starts to pass the buck)

most electricians i know jup pull it themselves but this is not generally reccomended for diyers

if you are going to do it yourself bear in mind the following points
1: there may be exposed live parts during and after pulling so take care to only touch plastic parts

2: make sure there is no current flowing by turning off the main switch first to prevent arcing

staffy said:
... the quotes that i have received are a joke?

I usually charge in the region of £250-350, depending on the number of circuits, accessibility, etc. By the time you've disconnected, tested everything, sorted out any snags, mounted and connected up the new unit, done the live tests, written out certificates and tidied up it can easily be the best part of a day's work in some properties. Your electricity company may well quote £400-500. How far out are your quotes?

Sponsored Links
plugwash said:
someone is going to have to pull the service fuse

A friend of mine said he done his one without pulling the service fuse. He needed new cables as the old ones were too short.

He took out the live (and neutral) cable that comes from the consumer unit and goes in a box with a lid on it. This has a seal, which he broke. Then he unscrewed the old live cable that goes into this box and pulled it out. Same with neutral.