Bathroom light wiring problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm making some changes to my bathroom and one of these includes installing a proper light fitting as the bathroom currently has the standard bulb on the end of a flex (which I thought was a no-no in bathrooms). Of course the existing wiring will not all fit in the new light.

Looking at the current wiring it appears to be similar to the diagram below and I thought if I put all these into a junction box I could then run a cable to the new light fitting.
bathroomlight.jpg

Wrong. There are actually four cables wired into this ceiling rose. Starting from the left:
Block 1 goes: Blue (first hole) - Red/Black (second hole, with the black having red tape around it).

Block 2 goes: Red/Red (first hole, with one red having red tape around it) - Red (second hole) - Red (third hole).

Block 3 goes: Black/Black (first hole) - Black (second hole) - Brown (third hole).

I'm a total novice to this but does that sound right to anyone? I've had a quick look in the loft and I think one flex is going to the bathroom light switch, one is going to the bathroom fan, one to the front bedroom, and I think one to the back bedroom (not confirmed though).

Any suggestions for the way to go to install my new light? Thanks.

Sponsored Links
You don't say, but I'm assuming your new light fitting has one block with space for three wires ?

If so...

Remove the existing light fitting.

Connect all the wires from existing block 2 (All the red ones) together in a separate block. (these do not connect to your new light)

You need to get all the earth leads together and connect them to your new light fitting.

Connect the wires from the existing block 1 into the appropriate position on your new light fitting

Connect the wires from the existing block 3 into the appropriate position on your new light fitting.

That's all.