Boiler wont ignite but Pilot is fine?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a Potterton Prima B boiler which will not ignite. The pilot light is on and i have voltage output from the boiler stat to the plug within the unit, so it should be on. Any ideas what this could be? I've never worked on gas appliances before.

Sponsored Links
I have a Potterton Prima B boiler which will not ignite. The pilot light is on and i have voltage output from the boiler stat to the plug within the unit, so it should be on. Any ideas what this could be? I've never worked on gas appliances before.
In which case find an RGi that has :D

What plug within which unit have are you describing?

Hi, thanks for replying. Would love to get someone to look at it for me but im broke and my Mrs is going mental about no hot water... ha ha

Ive got 240 from the mains swith live to the boiler thermostat and 240 from the boiler thermostat to the black lead with the plug on it which goes to the gas valve assembley.

Sponsored Links
I've lived here four years and never even thought about the immersion heater before.. ha.. Thanks for that. Ive dug through the mountains of linen in the cupboard and found the spur for the heater and put that on for now. (Just hope that works). Any ideas about the boiler though? Or should i definitely call a CORGI guy in the morning? Would be handy knowing what it may be as i dont want my Mrs to get ripped off etc as she knows less than me about boilers (If thats possible).

Could be a a number of things....all will require the sevices of a rgi.....sorry, thats the law.

Where the plug goes into the gas valve , does it sit into a black housing held in place with 2 screws. If so that is the operator and they usually go. Part costs abot 40 quid takes 2 mins to fit and does not need the gas to be interupted in anyway . Simple repair

Part costs abot 40 quid takes 2 mins to fit and does not need the gas to be interupted in anyway . Simple repair