Installing New Dishwasher, Can I.....?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,
I'm about to install a new dishwasher (smeg slimline) I know it only needs a cold water feed but i'm wondering because it will be sat next to the washing m/c is it possible to install it in-line with the washing m/c? i.e. share the same cold water feed with the washing m/c & also share the waste outlet? I'm envisaging some kind of T-splitter for the cold water supply at the back of the appliance & some kind of Y-splitter for the 2 grey waste tubes to merge?? or is this just too easy? I live in a purpose built flat where the waste stack is awkward to get to, so the sharing of piping would be the easiest option...a friend told me it shouldn't be a problem as long as i don't use both simultaneoulsy! is this all true? if so what splitter items do i need? many thanks

Sponsored Links
I should make it clear 1st I'm not an appliance engineer.....however if you do share the water feed/waste outlet as long as only 1 appliance is "asking/ releasing" water at a time then i can't see how a problem can possibly arise. don't know enough about it to actually recommend an exact 'splitter' model but I'm sure I've seen them out there!
happy hunting :)

If your washing machine is being fed from the mains then to split the supply should not be a problem as the the machines take water in by volume not presure, (so if both machines are on the cycle could be slower, doubt if you would notice it). As far as the waste if the discharge pipe is not large enough you could have a problem if both machines emptied at the same time. I would 'suck it & see' if this created a problem then use one machine at a time.

you can only use one appliance at a time, since as mentioned water demand by both will be split, but likewise so will the waste, and if the pipe cant take it then it will go somewhere (probably over the floor)

Sponsored Links