DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

working pressure


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alan99

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 May 2008
Posts: 2079
Location: Caernarvonshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 194 times

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 1:17 pm Reply with quote

hello. i had a working pressure at the meter of 14 mb . but the gas rate on the gloworm compact 100e was fine , totally unaffected. transco came repaired but just wondering how can such a low pressure not affect the gas rate on the boiler??
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Nixt

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Dec 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 2:06 pm Reply with quote

Because you're confusing working pressure with burner pressure.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
alan99

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 May 2008
Posts: 2079
Location: Caernarvonshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 194 times

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 3:17 pm Reply with quote

standing pressure at meter was 16 and working pressure at the meter was 14mb. this would surely dramatically effect the inlet pressure to the appliance and thus burner pressure and gas rate. both burner press and gas rate spot on
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
twgas

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Oct 2007
Posts: 4718
Location: Kent,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 393 times

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 3:25 pm Reply with quote

are you saying BP is higher than working pressure at meter
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
spudkey

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Oct 2007
Posts: 712
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 166 times

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 3:32 pm Reply with quote

it depends on the burner pressure setting on appliance, i think on this boiler it is only about 14mb anyway, if it needed a higher burner pressure then having only 14mb inlet will effect combustion & gas rate if required burner pressure is not achiveable it also becomes at risk
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
twgas

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Oct 2007
Posts: 4718
Location: Kent,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 393 times

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 3:53 pm Reply with quote

thats why I checked MI, 14.3mbar (hot)
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
spudkey

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Oct 2007
Posts: 712
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 166 times

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 4:07 pm Reply with quote

ah! 14.3mb burner pressure but only 14mb at meter, yet Op states burner pressure spot on i see your point
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
alan99

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 May 2008
Posts: 2079
Location: Caernarvonshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 194 times

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 5:25 pm Reply with quote

THANKS. yes off course if the burner pressure max setting is say 12mb and meter working pressure is say 16mb then the bp of the aplaince wont be affected. common sense i guess . thanks chaps
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
twgas

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Oct 2007
Posts: 4718
Location: Kent,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 393 times

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 6:43 pm Reply with quote

but you said WP at meter 14mbar, BP spot on, (MI say 14.3mbar) how is this so, or are you taking wrong readings or being given wrong info by the RGI that tested it
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
holty

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 5050
Location: Cornwall,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 777 times

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 7:46 pm Reply with quote

has anyone seen the OPs previous questions. it sounds like hes trying to fault find and work on gas sorry if im reading wrong.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
assured heating

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 300
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 23 times

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:45 pm Reply with quote

yes it seems that alan99 has been asking questions that are really basic !! that is what the fast track system is giving to the industry GOD HELP HIS CUTOMERS icon_rolleyes.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
spacethegas

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Jun 2008
Posts: 1214
Location: Wiltshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 2 times

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 10:03 pm Reply with quote

get out transco then.



.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Working pressure and pressure drop across system 2 580 Sat Dec 22, 2007 4:43 pm
Poor hot water pressure - dishwasher not working. 18 360 Wed Jan 25, 2012 11:54 pm
baxi 80 combi still not working losing water pressure 8 1460 Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:58 pm
Working out pressure. 2 220 Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:30 pm
New Grant boiler losing pressure but still working? 12 2940 Wed Dec 02, 2009 10:24 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.