DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Re-use Existing Flue??

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jon26

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Posts: 216
Location: Aberdeen,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:01 pm Reply with quote

Just a question for you pro's please.
My friend has a 30+ year old Potterton oil fired boiler and is looking to replace it with a new condensing type (possibly Worcester or Grant?)

Although the boiler is very old, the existing boiler flue is quite new, it was only replaced 18 months ago, I believe its a 150mm dia. lined flue which rises vertically through the first floor and second floor through the roof.

Can the new oil condensing boiler be connected to the existing flue?

Cheers

icon_biggrin.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
cozzmic

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Jan 2005
Posts: 767
Location: Nairnshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 58 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:06 pm Reply with quote

No it can't, flue gasses and condensate more corrosive and special flue matched to the boiler required. Be prepared for big bucks for the flue.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Corgigrouch

from United Kingdom

Joined: 13 Dec 2007
Posts: 3220
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 327 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:09 pm Reply with quote

Personally speaking, I'd scrap the grease machine and look at a heat pump of some description.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
jon26

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Posts: 216
Location: Aberdeen,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:11 pm Reply with quote

Surely a 150mm dia. open flue that is currently there will be the same as the new flue that would be fitted? How will the new one differ?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
nickso

from United Kingdom

Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 236 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:16 pm Reply with quote

jon26 wrote:
Surely a 150mm dia. open flue that is currently there will be the same as the new flue that would be fitted?


no it wont.

Quote:
How will the new one differ?


a combination of voodoo and luck.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
rssteve

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Nov 2007
Posts: 467
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:17 pm Reply with quote

condensate more corrosive and special flue matched to the boiler required

also the new flu may have an air in aswell as out. Why ask on here if you don;t want to agree with the answers.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
jon26

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Posts: 216
Location: Aberdeen,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:20 pm Reply with quote

rssteve wrote:
condensate more corrosive and special flue matched to the boiler required

also the new flu may have an air in aswell as out. Why ask on here if you don;t want to agree with the answers.


As I said the new flue won't be a concentric flue or air in aswell as air out. It would be an open flue. But I take your point about the condensate etc.

Could the new flue go inside the old one, I know the Grant boilers have a flexible flue system that could be used??
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
cozzmic

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Jan 2005
Posts: 767
Location: Nairnshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 58 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:26 pm Reply with quote

Just let him go ahead and install and not listen to installers, then when the flue corrodes through and the condensate starts to seep into the chimney and disolving the cement/brickwork/old soot and start staining of the wall on the inside and outside he'll maybe think I should have listened.
And no it probably wouldn't go down inside the other flue, quicker to pull the old out and the new tied to the end to pull it in.
The Grant flue is of a special build quality, double thick and has to be put in correct way with the arrows printed on it.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
jon26

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Posts: 216
Location: Aberdeen,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:29 pm Reply with quote

cozzmic wrote:
Just let him go ahead and install and not listen to installers, then when the flue corrodes through and the condensate starts to seep into the chimney and disolving the cement/brickwork/old soot and start staining of the wall on the inside and outside he'll maybe think I should have listened.
And no it probably wouldn't go down inside the other flue, quicker to pull the old out and the new tied to the end to pull it in.
The Grant flue is of a special build quality, double thick and has to be put in correct way with the arrows printed on it.


I appreciate you comments, and have no reason to doubt you. I will let him know.
Is there a possibility that a 'non-condensing' boiler could be fitted or is this against regs?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
jon26

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Posts: 216
Location: Aberdeen,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:51 pm Reply with quote

Would you recommend another open flue or go for a concentric flue on the new boiler. I don't think there is an available outside wall for combustion air
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Agile

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 52899
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3331 times

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:32 am Reply with quote

You seem to be going to a lot of trouble and to be mildly argumentative with replies given when its your friends problem anyway.

The normal advice would be for him to choose an OFTEC registered installer and take his advice!

Tony
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
sambotc

from United Kingdom

Joined: 10 Apr 2007
Posts: 581
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 14 times

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:16 am Reply with quote

You could also consider fitting an outside boiler if siting requirements are met and re-routing pipework. Depending on the situation it may work out cheaper?

Sam
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
jon26

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Posts: 216
Location: Aberdeen,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:59 pm Reply with quote

Agile wrote:
You seem to be going to a lot of trouble and to be mildly argumentative with replies given when its your friends problem anyway.

The normal advice would be for him to choose an OFTEC registered installer and take his advice!

Tony


Just remind me of the name of your company Tony, so that I know not to use you. What would be the point of these sites if everyone were to go straight to their installer first?

Thanks for the other helpful comments guys.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Agile

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 52899
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3331 times

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:11 pm Reply with quote

jon26 wrote:


Just remind me of the name of your company Tony, so that I know not to use you.

What would be the point of these sites if everyone were to go straight to their installer first?



Dont worry we dont work north of the border! In any case we only work for the property owner, or whoever is going to pay us and not for their "mates".

The point of this site is to help people understand problems with their heating and boilers. In some cases we can help reasonable competent DIYers to repair their system themselves or at least to get an idea of what might be wrong and how much that might cost to put right.

Safety dictates that gas and oil boilers are installed by competent qualified people. Its normal for an installer to visit and discuss with the owner what is required and how that can be accommodated.

Installation questions can only be answered at the property except when highly detailed pictures and/or plans are submitted.

Tony
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
nickso

from United Kingdom

Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 236 times

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 4:58 pm Reply with quote

Agile wrote:

Dont worry we dont work north of the border! In any case we only work for the property owner, or whoever is going to pay us and not for their "mates".



you dont have the correct paperwork to get "north of the border". icon_rolleyes.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Possible to use existing (CF) Flue for new Boiler 5 400 Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:39 pm
Extending existing flue pipe through flat roof of extension 9 880 Fri Sep 03, 2010 7:37 am
Min distance from existing fire flue...? 5 560 Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:57 am
Using the existing Flue 7 260 Tue Nov 23, 2010 12:11 am
Fitting stove into existing gas fire chimney: new flue req? 2 100 Sat Apr 13, 2013 7:13 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.