Window replacement

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am looking someone or a company that can replace 2 windows at my flat. I am a builder myself but I want the windows to be Fensa register, so Fensa registration is a must. They are 1600x1350 both same style and size. 1 at kitchen (groundfloor) 1-
bedroom (first floor). At the moment they are in wood and we want to replace into upvc double glazing.3 openings.
Is there any one there that can provide me a competitive quote?
I am in SW London
Many thanks

Sponsored Links
You seem to misunderstand Fensa they are not the only certifying body.

If you are a builder and capable of fitting your own windows then you can submit an application to the local building control Fee payable of course,
they will inspect the installation usually before and after and they issue you with a certificate of compliance.

if you talk to them before hand,they will advise you on what you need to do to comply with doc L

fensa was only set up to short cut this procedure.

I know all of that. Nothing new for me. The matter is a bit more complex.
As we live in an ex-council state all windows have to be similar in style (design). The original ones (wooden windows) can not be made in the same style in UPVC(the opening will be to small, I tried many options). Certainly will not pass when building control check them as UPVC has a different opening, there is no solution for the problem, and I have been doing a research for long time. At the other hand company fensa register are "cowboys", they do what they want and certify what they want. 98% off windows that are installed from a Fensa company are not checked and most of them do not comply with building regulation (but they are Fensa register).
If I do with them the responsibility at end it will be theirs. I don’t want to spend money installing the windows by myself and at the end building control creates a problem with me.