Tiling my bathroom

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I want to tile my bathroom but I have never done any tiling before.

The room is 2.83 meter squared so its only a small room it should be pretty straight and I can lift the toilet and pedastal so there are only a few pipes to cut around.

The current floor is plywood with that thin sticky back laminate flooring which has lasted suprisingly well. Do I remove the thin laminate flooring or tile straight over it?

Can I tile straight against the most seen walls in an L shape and keep all the cuts to one wall?
I can tile underneath the bath panel to hide cuts etc and the other wall has the toliet and sink with all the pipe cuts.

I also need to know if it is worth me doing this or paying somebody to do it? What kind of price is it to do such a small room so I can get an idea if it is worth me getting stressed etc.....

Because the room is only small I want to go all out and get some posh tiles like stone or slate ones etc.

Can anybody give me any tips etc please?

Sponsored Links
seems like the questions that you have sir are at the top of the tiling section, marked as a sticky, hope this helps

:cool:

Read the sticky before but I still need to know how much it would cost a tiler to do the job and if it is worth while me doing it.

Thanks.

Read the sticky before but I still need to know how much it would cost a tiler to do the job and if it is worth while me doing it.

Thanks.

its very difficult to give a quote over the net or phone, you have to see a job first hand to price it up,plus different areas have different prices, around here at the min tho your talking around £25- 30 sqm (unless you employ polish of course) or around 150 - 180 a day ish

for tiling alone im sure you wont pay anymore than £230, then dont forget you have to get in yourself or get the tiler to provide, which of course adds to costs the adhesive, grout, etc

hope this helps

Sponsored Links