DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Help with a small hole in external wall

Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
sing2trees

from United Kingdom

United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:01 am Reply with quote

Hi,
We have a hole in the wall going from outside into our kitchen, were I assume an old outlet pipe went through.

We now have the joys of mice in the kitchen cupboard, where the hole is.
I have traps down and have caught a few mice, but I want to block up the hole!

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can do so? I am a DIY newbie, and cannot access the hole on the inside, only the outside.

Any advice gratefully welcomed!

Thanks

Ben
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
mobileman

from United Kingdom

United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:07 am Reply with quote

Is it a brick wall? What size is the hole?

Simply mix up 4 parts sand to 1 part cement with a bit of water so that it's not too sloppy but wet enough to work with. A splash of washing up liquid will help you mix it.

Fill hole and job done.
 Alert Moderators
sing2trees

from United Kingdom

United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:10 am Reply with quote

Thanks for that! Being a complete newbie, I take it I can buy a smallish pack of cement from homebase or b&q?

The hole is approx 3inch diameter. The wall is brick with a loose stone rendering.

Hope that makes sense!
 Alert Moderators
Blasphemous

from United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:42 am Reply with quote