question on TN-S earthing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Our system is on TN-S earthing and the connection with the supplier's cable from our earthing block is via what looks like a very small green wire not bigger than 2 or 3mm.

I've seen a sketch on the iet forum and this shows a 16mm cable.

Can we request that the DNO upgrade this or can they leave it as it is?

All the Z values tested ok as told by a spark.

Sponsored Links
When you say 2-3mm, is that the outside diameter, or the CSA (cross sectional area) - the 16mm figure will be the CSA, the actual cable will be nothing like that big, although it is slightly bigger than 2-3mm.

My house has ~6 or 10mm CSA earth serving it (and the house next door which for some starnge reason runs through my earth block), which is slightly undersized, but not disasterously so (my Ze value checks out fine etc). I would suggest if a spark has tested Ze and it's fine, then you don't need to worry too much (but I'm not an electrician, so don't necessarily trust what I say!)

The size of main earth bond depends on your main tail size and fuse. The sparky who tested Ze for you will tell you if it's indersized.

If you are getting an acceptable Ze from it, then the DNO are unlikely to be interested in upgrading, unless it is single strand wire or a dodgy connection (EC14 earth strap for example).

Sponsored Links
can you post a photo?

where is this thin wire connected to?

it is the connection between the dno cable sheath and the earth block.
the earthwire from earth block to cu is a massive 16mm.

I remember seeing a pic similar to my setup on here, i'll search for it and get back to you if i can find it

although it's not G&Y, it doesn't look terribly small. Are we meant to deduce that yours is the same size?

How about you take a photo of your own one, showing what YOURS is attached to at the DNO end.

//www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=129539