PVC Window lock problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm having a couple of problems with my windows that I would like help with, I must say that I have no experience with windows but I'm pretty good at general diy.

1. I have a cracked window that I would like to replace but I'm not sure how I would remove and replace the beading.
2. How do I measure for a new window as I know a place that makes them and when I gave rough calculations it was only going to cost me £30 and for a company to replace the window it was going to cost me £200!!!!!

http://i284.photobucket.com/albums/ll39/28kennedy/Window002.jpg[/IMG
[img]http://i284.photobucket.com/albums/ll39/28kennedy/Window003.jpg
Window004.jpg

3. Another window I have seems to have a broken lock, it wont open, when I open the handle, it seems like the bolt unlocks on the right side but it is still locked on the left side. When I remove the handle to look at it the locking mechanism inside the window (second picture below) moves about freely (not sure if this is supposed to be like that). So how do I get the window open? I'm not bothered if it doesn't lock again aslong as it opens and closes as its the toilet window!!!!

Window001.jpg

Window005.jpg

These pictures are pictures of the lock on a different window which I assume will be the same

S4300040.jpg

S4300041.jpg

S4300039.jpg

S4300042.jpg

When the handle moves down two bolts come from the end of the frame and also a bolt goes down just underneath the handle

Sponsored Links
1. To remove the existing beading, you need one or two scrapers or similar tools: I find well-worn putty knives work quite well. Start to prise out a bead from one end; insert a second tool if you need to hold the gap open to get some more leverage.