Replacing a loft tank ball cock - it's leaking!! :(

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm a complete plumbing newbie (some would say numpty). I've recently replaced a ballcock mechanism in my loft cold water tank. All went well until I had to remove it to bend the arm (to lower the ballcock and water level) and then replace it. Basically it seems that I've somehow loosened the valve that connects the ballcock to the water pipe (back nut?) and now have a very slight drip. I don't know where the stop valve is for the water pipe so can't take it all to bits to fix it/make even more of a mess.

Can anyone advise how I can tighten up a back nut - is there anything in particular I should know? Or should I just call a plumber?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Dan

Sponsored Links
i would locate the stop cock if possible as it is very handy to know where it is in an emergancy!
you could try tightening the checkvalve however over tightening could make it worse if you can turn the water off and loosen it off then wrap 2 turns of p.t.f.e. tape (pennies to buy) around the thread then tighten it up again problem solved

thanks badgerchief, much appreciated.

Can you tell me what the checkvalve is?

as badgerchief says, in its entirity.

Only thing I'd add is that you need 2 spanners - one to grip the body of the isolator valve and the other to turn the nut. Don't try to turn it too much - just tweaking it (probably less than a quarter turn) sufficient to do the job.

Sponsored Links
Just had a closer look at your photo - push the connector (called the check or isolator valve) back into position before you tighten it - maybe up to 3/4 a turn since it looks as though the olive may have slipped.

cheers swidders.