Bathroom Light/FAN switch help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
After trying to replace a cord on a bathroom ceiling pull switch (I apologise for getting any terminology wrong but I have little experience :oops: ) things went belly up. I need to replace the whole unit as the old one fell to pieces but am having problems.

The switch in question operated both the light and an extractor fan .i.e when switched on both came on. From the ceiling there are two grey cables each containing an earth, red and black (with red casing) wire. The old switch casing had 5 terminals, both earths in one and the remaining 4 in seperate ones. I have been unable to find one the same as the old and the new switch i have got has only four terminals (earth, L1,L2 and com). Is it possible to connect the 6 wires into these four and where would they go.

At the moment I have isolated the lighting circuit ,is it safe to turn this backon whilst not having a switch in place.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Sponsored Links
Can you describe the terminals on the old switch?? Does it say DP anywhere on the reverse??

I think you have a Double Pole switch there.

did the terminals have any labeling and if so what wire was connected to each terminal?

Matticus said:
(earth, L1,L2 and com). Is it possible to connect the 6 wires into these four and where would they go.

is looks like you have a 2 way switch. you need a double pole switch. for now, you can use this switch to power only the light. 1 wire will connect to com and the other wire will connect to L1. ull have to connect it and switch the circuit on to see if you got the cable feeding the light and not the fan. make sure the other wire is taped up or the ends in a terminal block

EDIT:, when i say 1 wire to com and 1 wire to L1, i mean 1 core or one of the twin and earths

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the quick replies