Vaillant 837 Ecotec. Gas Inlet Pressure Problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've had some issues with inlet pressure and have gone through a steep learning curve to understand what pressures are required at the boiler. I'm no engineer, but I have used this site to understand more about the requirements before I undertook expensive and inconvenient work.

I have a Vaillant 837 Ecotec and when recently serviced the gas inlet pressure (when on full demand) was 12.5Mb. The service engineer put this down to the pipe size being only 22mm, whereas he felt it should be 28mm. However he did also note the pressure at the meter (when the boiler was on full demand) was only registering 17mb.

This service engineer was not the same company that did the original installation, but when I spoke to the original engineer about this he indicated that when the boiler was commissioned it was fine. In fact he said that the previous boiler, which was situated about 4 feet away from the new one had old 18mm pipework and that was OK. He was right and I checked the service report on this and it was showing 17.5mb (on full demand). He suggested I get the gas pressure looked at coming into the meter before any work was undertaken.

That made me slightly suspicious of the new engineer's motives as he initially seemed reluctant that I get someone to look at the pressure at the meter. He even suggested that I should get the pipework changed first and then if there was still a problem I should call in National Grid! I'm no rocket scientist, but I'm also not stupid and know when I'm being spun a yarn!

I therefore used this site to increase my knowledge of gas pressures and discovered that National Grid are obliged (FOC) to ensure that pressure at the meter should be between 19 and 23mb (boiler on full demand). I therefore called them out before I undertook any remedial work on my pipework and they cleared a blockage and changed the gas governor.