Minor works testing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I am a newly qualified electrician and as such just wanted to ask a couple of questions about minor works testing.

I have been asked to replace a 13a socket face on a 32a ring as the existing one is cracked and unsafe.

My first question is does this work require a minor works cert?

Secondly, assuming the answer to the above is yes, can you complete all the required tests with the other circuits in the consumer unit being live as the owner does not want to disconnect the supply to some of his other circuits.

Again I am assuming that the answer to this is yes, the circuit is protected by an RCBO so I am assuming the RCD tests will not cause a problem as the circuit does not go through a second RCD.

However, when I thought about the Zs test, I was then unsure if this would be ok to do with all the other circuits live and I believe that it is a required test for the minor works cert?

Many thanks in advance
Luke

Sponsored Links
Hi all,

I am a newly qualified electrician and as such just wanted to ask a couple of questions about minor works testing.

I have been asked to replace a 13a socket face on a 32a ring as the existing one is cracked and unsafe.

My first question is does this work require a minor works cert?
Yes all work requires a minor work cert if installation one is not issued. It is really a check sheet to ensure you don't miss checking something
Secondly, assuming the answer to the above is yes, can you complete all the required tests with the other circuits in the consumer unit being live as the owner does not want to disconnect the supply to some of his other circuits.
No you can't test Neutral / Earth insulation resistance without switching off with double pole device.
Again I am assuming that the answer to this is yes, the circuit is protected by an RCBO so I am assuming the RCD tests will not cause a problem as the circuit does not go through a second RCD.