DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Samsung J1453 - error code 5e - done all the required fixes

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Appliances
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Regent

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Derby,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 12:32 pm Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm getting the error code 5e on my samsung J1453 washing machine.

I have the manual and have done whats been suggested, clean filter, check drainage hose etc and still getting the same error code when the machine attempts to drain.

The filter propeller was making an awful noise when attmepting to drain so I checked that and I'm sure it was falling on when trying to spin, so I removed it from the filter drained manually and started the spin cycle - but came across the same error!?!

Anyone got any ideas??? at all??
thanks
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Regent

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Derby,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 5:01 pm Reply with quote

OK

I've managed to get the machine to spin, by taking out the filter propeller - It's definitely coming loose when spin kicks in, you can here it clattering around trying to spin but bouncing all over the shop.

Is this common - any reason for this, I can't see any real wear or tear on the propeller itself so why would it be falling off?

Obviously when falling off it was causing a 'blockage' thats was itself causing the 5E error
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Leccy758

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 1256
Location: Cornwall,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 196 times

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 9:33 pm Reply with quote

I take it you mean the impeller on the drain pump has fallen off.

I have seen this a few times and have always ended up fitting a new pump
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Regent

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Derby,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 10:00 pm Reply with quote

ah yes - the impeller - yep, thats the thing, thanks!

This is exactly what it looks like -

https://spares.bigwarehouse.com.au/images/1541442.jpg

Is this common at all? I've removed the impeller and ran the machine again, but still get the 5E error - would this be the case in general becuase I've removed the impeller?? I thought removing it might stop the blockage as the blockage was the impeller itself falling off.

What's the job of the impeller - if you don't mind educating me a little more?

I'd be happy to fit it myself if anyone can point me in the direction of a parts distributor where I could get hold of one?!

Thanks again
Regent
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
rocks1

from Puerto Rico

Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 5857
Location: Puerto Rico
Thanked: 994 times

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 10:05 pm Reply with quote

the impeller flicks the water round in easy terms have you google for a pump
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
rocks1

from Puerto Rico

Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 5857
Location: Puerto Rico
Thanked: 994 times

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 10:07 pm Reply with quote

Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Regent

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Derby,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 10:18 pm Reply with quote

I've just emailed the same guy on ebay to ask about that exact pump

Thanks a lot

Why does the water need flicking around??

Regent (obvisouly not a plumber or electrician)
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
rocks1

from Puerto Rico

Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 5857
Location: Puerto Rico
Thanked: 994 times

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:24 pm Reply with quote

water needs to move up the drain pipe. holding it up will not get the water up so the pump will flick the imellor round ,bit like a ship no power it just sits then once the rear impeller on the ship starts it pushes water away ,thats the easy way to explain it .
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Regent

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Derby,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 6:58 pm Reply with quote

OK

I fitted the new pump, which I been assured is the correct pump (the exact one as above) and all fits well etc.

I've tried out the spin cycle but it won't spin at top speed, simply displays 9mins on the display, ticks to 8mins and slowly spins for a min, the goes back to 9min and same process carries on and on...... Not getting up any speed.

Any ideas??
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
rocks1

from Puerto Rico

Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 5857
Location: Puerto Rico
Thanked: 994 times

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:04 pm Reply with quote

was it doing it before you removed the pump .if not is the heater wires still connected try and retrace your steps.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Regent

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Derby,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:36 pm Reply with quote

Before, the washing machine wouldn't drain and would error before getting to a spin. Now it just spins without much effort - it's like theres just not enough power ??
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Regent

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Derby,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:04 pm Reply with quote

Also, want to make sure I'm getting the wires the correct way round - I have a red wire with a connector and blue and white wires on a single connector - on my pump I have two tabs to where the wires connect, one marked L and one marked N - which goes to which??
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
rocks1

from Puerto Rico

Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 5857
Location: Puerto Rico
Thanked: 994 times

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:11 pm Reply with quote

there should only be two wires on a pump dont matter which way they go round ,
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Regent

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Derby,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:25 pm Reply with quote

Good - tried all variations with the same outcome. Slow spinning, now fills and empties perfectly well but spinning just isn't happening - slow spin repeating
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
rocks1

from Puerto Rico

Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 5857
Location: Puerto Rico
Thanked: 994 times

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:35 pm Reply with quote

it hasnt got a no spin button on the front has it icon_question.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Appliances All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Electric cable required. You would think it was easy! 8 620 Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:13 pm
help on a beko frige freezer required 3 700 Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:24 pm
servis fridge freezer diagnostic - help required 4 180 Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:34 pm
Bosch \Neff Dishwasher help required. AntiFlood problem 14 340 Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:40 pm
Miele Novotronic Premier 500 Washer help required 3 80 Thu Feb 21, 2013 3:08 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.