Weired Energy efficiency bulb problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

Am a Professional automotive engineer by trade who is in the doldrums after being laid off like many thousands of others at the moment.

So you know the scenario, left a list of jobs to do by wifey, one of them read, "fix the second light in the bedroom, bulb on window sill". So go and look, put low energy bulb in, turn on and all OK! Think, ok, job done, she obviously couldn't reach the fitting.

When I'm working, I generally go to bed later than her and am at work before she gets up, so think she has taken bulb out so when I turn light on it doesn't wake her up.

However, last night, go to bed as normal, in the dark and I see a flash. Look again a few seconds later, and it flashes again.

This morning I ask her if this was the original problem to be told yes.

So think that's easy, it's the switch. It looks mickey mouse so must be that. So put new crabtree switch ( it's a one gang fitting) on. Then look and it does it again.

So take switch out and it still does it. Turn off rcd and it will stop. Put in normal bulb and it will stop. So start to study when circuit live again and it flashes every 10 seconds without fail.

To me it indicates the low energy bulbs have a CR circuit in them and there must be some sort of back feed powering the start up circuit of the bulb. Changing the bulb for another won't make it go away either.

Has anyone seen this before or know what's going on and how to cure it?

Thanks as ever.

Regards.

Sponsored Links
They do that in my house too.

I have no earth on the lighting circuit for the rooms this happens in, something to do with capacitance & transference from the live wire through to the switched live happening because there is no CPC to prevent it.

Search the site for "flash" & you may find this discussed & explained better.

Sponsored Links