Connecting a mirror light to the mains (plug socket) with ce

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I am trying to connect a lit mirror in my bathroom to the mains power socket in the room next door. Sounds easy I know, however I want to run the cable from the mirror to a switch (ideally pull cord) then from there to the plug socket in the next room, however the pull switch I have is for lights connected to the light circuit, L1 L2 and com....so no good...anyone have any ideas? Much appreciated.

I can't connect this light to the lighting circuit due to the location so want it run to the mains

Sponsored Links
in the pull cord switch just run the neutral and earth through (if you are carefull you can do it without cutting them at all if not use chock block).

you also need to use a fused connection unit if connecting a light to a socket cuircuit.

Thanks for the response, you will have to excuse my ignorance as I am an electrical novice.....however am I right in thinking that you mean I can connect the live from the mains to the COM connection, then connect the live from the light to the L1 connection....then just hook the neutrals together seperately?

arthurp8 said:
Thanks for the response, you will have to excuse my ignorance as I am an electrical novice.....however am I right in thinking that you mean I can connect the live from the mains to the COM connection, then connect the live from the light to the L1 connection....then just hook the neutrals together seperately?

yes. jsut make sure that the leisting light aint connected to com and L1

Sponsored Links
Sorry not sure what you mean by leisting light....prob a typo just wanting to check before I electrocute myself....

Also Plugwash do you mean I need a fused pull switch/fuse additional to the one in the plug?

Cheers

Just want a definative this is what to do for a thickie
Cheers

arthurp8 said: