How do you calculate fixed price contracts?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
In my professional life, I am a variety of project manager. One of the areas I cover is supplying quotes to customers. These quotes are typically around the £100M mark, some go into the billions. Large teams of subject matter expects spend a long time coming up with all the work that is eventually distilled into a nice fixed figure.

One of the tough areas is risk. You need to have a contingency to cover things that MIGHT crop up. So, get people to think up all the doom and gloom, and then we sit in a room and figure out how likely it is to occur and what it will cost if it does, and is there anything we can do to prevent it happening or lessen its effect. Seems to work quite well so far!

I was wondering - how is it done in the trade? If someone asks for a fixed price, do you look at a job and think "Simple, should only take me a day... but if I lift the floorboards and find a real mess it might take me a week or more"? Do you:

a) quote for just one day and keep your fingers crossed
b) quote for the whole week, just in case
c) tell them you can't give a fixed price until you've got the boards up?
d) ????

Sponsored Links
me personally would looked into all aspects if floor boards needed lifting lift them also explain to the cutomer if things dont go according to plan then there might be a bit more to pay but do as much homework as possible.. also for doom and gloom speak to joe 90 he will keep you entertained. :LOL: :LOL:

Written into Terms and Conditions (signed by customer on larger jobs):

Outline of work
Variations requested by you: If you wish to make alterations to the work as specified in the Work Specification then additional costs may have to be added to your invoice (after first being agreed between you and (XXX Plumbing).