DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

C30 Concrete

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Building
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MarkSmith

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 178
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:47 am Reply with quote

Hi all,

I have had a cellar support designed by an engineer, and it specifies, amongst other things, "C30" concrete (which defines its resistance to crushing, I think). I need about 0.6m3 of if, about 0.15m3 at a time (days or weeks in between), so it's just not worth getting readymix or similar.

How can I achieve a C30 mix? I just rang Readymix for advice and was told there was no way to do it myself - the only way, he said, was to buy it in. I find that hard to believe.

I have found websites specifying other mixes - C20 for example. Just can't find C30.

Thanks!
-Mark
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
alastairreid

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 4851
Location: Edinburgh,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 615 times

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 2:40 pm Reply with quote

have a read at this.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Chukka63

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 903
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 81 times

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:08 pm Reply with quote

im sure 4:2:1 will suffice
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
MarkSmith

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 178
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:51 pm Reply with quote

Thanks both.

According to alastairreid's link it's 300kg cement, 0.5m3 sand, 0.75m3 aggregate, which is a straight answer but still a bit awkward as two of those quantities are volume and the third one mass - which doesn't lend itself to how much of each I put into the mixer.

It also refers to that as a 6:1 mix, which is think is by volume (?). That would suggest 300kg cement has a volume of 0.2m3.

The ratio in the document doesn't work out as exactly 1:2:4 - it works out as 1:2.4:3.6. Would I be right to assume the ratio of sand:aggregate is less important than the ratio of cement:(sand+aggregate)?

Thanks,
Mark


Last edited by MarkSmith on Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Chukka63

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 903
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 81 times

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:09 pm Reply with quote

if youre using ballast make it a 5:1 mix
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Chukka63

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 903
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 81 times

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:10 pm Reply with quote

i wouldnt worry about being too precise .when the cube guys come out to site they get there concrete then we add loads of water so its all bulls**t anyway. icon_lol.gif icon_lol.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
MarkSmith

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 178
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:28 pm Reply with quote

Chukka63 wrote:
if youre using ballast [...]

As opposed to what?

Ta,
Mark
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Chukka63

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 903
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 81 times

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:32 pm Reply with quote

sand and stone seperately
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Shytalkz

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 4865
Location: Norfolk,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 13 times

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:16 pm Reply with quote

Chukka63 wrote:
i wouldnt worry about being too precise .when the cube guys come out to site they get there concrete then we add loads of water so its all bulls**t anyway. icon_lol.gif icon_lol.gif
And you are probably exactly the self-same person who whinges and moans that things seem over-designed - which they are, of course, due to inbuilt safety factors that are there to cater for prats like you.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Deluks

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 6587
Location: Surrey,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 310 times

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:37 pm Reply with quote

Shytalkz wrote:
And you are probably exactly the self-same person who whinges and moans that things seem over-designed - which they are, of course, due to inbuilt safety factors that are there to cater for prats like you.


icon_lol.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Chukka63

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 903
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 81 times

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:52 pm Reply with quote

Shytalkz wrote:
Chukka63 wrote:
i wouldnt worry about being too precise .when the cube guys come out to site they get there concrete then we add loads of water so its all bulls**t anyway. icon_lol.gif icon_lol.gif
And you are probably exactly the self-same person who whinges and moans that things seem over-designed - which they are, of course, due to inbuilt safety factors that are there to cater for prats like you.


icon_lol.gif as an engineer im sure youve been on site on many occasions and seen such things being done,so you know this happens and build in the safety factor.

so whats the correct self mix quantites ???
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
stuart45

from United Kingdom

Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 1795
Location: Somerset,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 186 times

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:59 pm Reply with quote

Shame on you Chukka, adding water after the cube mans gone. icon_wink.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Chukka63

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 903
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 81 times

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:04 pm Reply with quote

well when you order a 60mm slump and the truck turns up and the concrete wont even come down the chute you dont have much choice.also,we all know it isnt 60mm slump, so its been delivered wrong in the first place.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
stuart45

from United Kingdom

Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 1795
Location: Somerset,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 186 times

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:25 pm Reply with quote

Most of the groundworkers I know usually put enough in to self level. icon_lol.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
hotrod

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 1162
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 110 times

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 9:09 pm Reply with quote

stuart45 wrote:
Most of the groundworkers I know usually put enough in to self level. icon_lol.gif


LMFAO icon_lol.gif .

Without exception, every single groundworker subbie I have had working on one of my sites has been a sub-human neanderthal. Most of them have been nice lads, but I wouldn't want to go drinking with any of them.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Building All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
will concrete over rubble channel water away from house? 6 220 Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:48 pm
concrete floor below the DPC 2 60 Sun Aug 07, 2011 9:48 am
Concrete garage experiences - Hanson? Nucrete? 28 2260 Wed Sep 07, 2011 10:17 pm
Lowering a concrete floor 2 60 Thu Sep 15, 2011 5:04 pm
Uneven Concrete Pad 17 420 Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:13 am


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.