DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Texecom dialer interference


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Alarms, CCTV & Telephones
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
andrewph

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Surrey,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 8:53 am Reply with quote

All,

Hopefully someone may be able to assist me. Installed a Veritas system with dialer just under a year ago and has worked with no problems. Recently however we started having an issue with incoming calls which I traced to the autodialler responding to the incoming call with a fax like sound. So the dialer is currently disconnected until I can work out what is going on.

Dialer is correctly installed with earth etc as per Texecom instructions.

I have tried with a different DSL filter in case that could have been the issue, disconnected phones in case REN too high etc. With conclusion that it is the dialer.

Next step is to power it down to try and reset (does not seem to be reset function?) and then reprogramme to see if that solves out.

But I wondered if anyone out there has any other suggestions? It may be a problem with the dialer but I would be surprised.

Cheers
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Lectrician

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Jul 2004
Posts: 7613
Location: Devon,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 296 times

PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:18 pm Reply with quote

There was issues with them doing this.

There is a feature that lets you dial into the dialler and leave a message, or 'tannoy' to the building via the inbuilt or external speaker. These features are off by default, but for some reason, regardless of the settings, the system answers calls and records a memo message.

I have replaced three of these becasue of the funny fault in the last few years.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
andrewph

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Surrey,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 7:03 pm Reply with quote

Thanks for the advice but it looks as though it has sorted itself out, at least for now.

I ended up powering it down and then reprogramming it and now all seems OK with ring count set to zero.

If problems persist I'll speak with Texecom as of course it is just over a year old!

Cheers

Andrew
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Alarms, CCTV & Telephones All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
hi everyone alarm time again interference on sound bomb 7 100 Sat Nov 12, 2011 9:27 am
Yale 6200 Alarm Interference 25 520 Fri Jun 10, 2011 9:23 pm
CCTV Cameras Interference when cameras powered by same PSU 14 400 Thu Nov 01, 2012 2:22 pm
Chased phone line into wall, wet plaster over = interference 6 800 Fri Aug 15, 2008 9:41 pm
Cordless phones and WiFi interference 2 140 Tue Sep 30, 2014 12:09 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.