urgent-Potterton Suprima 100 - red light

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Boiler won't work at all. Red light flashing on and off - 3 SEC'S ON AND 3 SEC'S OFF.
Previously boiler was moody (used to fire up for 1o seconds and then cut ou t most of the time but lways seemed to work early in morning and then again at night) but Had PCB board replaced 11 months ago (INTERPART 5111603) last time thi s happened and has worked (unreliably) since then -
bearing in mind pcb boards cost Now it is kaput should i just ring POTTERTON?

over 200 euro should i be looking at getting new boiler soon?

Sponsored Links
I SHOULD SAY THAT 1. THE HOUSE IS FREEZING AND 2.I AM NOT AN ELECTRICIAN BUT ON OBJECTION TO HAVING A GO ANT PLUG AND PLAY REPLACEMENTS.

IS IT PCB BOARD?

IS IT THERMISTOR?

The new boards are fairly reliable.
Do you have the thin "manual" that came with the new board?
I expect it's online at partarena.com\baxi
Have you tried the reset procedure?

10 seconds indicates lack of flow, and consequent overheating. Is it a sealed system? COuld be lack of water.
Does the pump sound ok - try changing its speed, you should hear it respond.

HHope you've got an immersion heater for HW.

water is fine.Have pressure of 2 1/2 bar.

.yes I have the thin manual from the new pcb board and I followed the troubleshooting procedure diagram. The flashing red light according to the flow chart indicates it is either therimstor or the pcb board. It tells me to check the resistence of the thermostor is between 20kO* and 4MO* with a multi meter . I did this today and restance was O L but i am not sure what that means really. anyone know how to use a multi meter?