DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Viessman vitodens 100 ( F4 )


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
antonm

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:42 am Reply with quote

My boiler has just started playing up. It's regularly serviced and up to date. Recently though it's started cutting out and I have no hot water or central heating. The reset button flashes red and F4 comes on the display. I can reset but sometimes it works after two or three presses, sometimes it can take half an hour, pushing the reset button, waiting, flashes again and then I push the button. Eventually the boiler kicks in, but only lasts a few hours then I have to start resetting again. Any ideas. Thanks-Anton
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 35952
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1251 times

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:45 am Reply with quote

how old is it?

is it a combi?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
antonm

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:09 pm Reply with quote

JohnD wrote:
how old is it?

is it a combi?


Yes mate. It's a combi. quite new. About two years old, I think. Was in when I bought house, but think it was newish
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 35952
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1251 times

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:17 pm Reply with quote

I am a householder not a pro. I have a Vitodens 100 Compact which is not the same as yours. I got it because it is supposed to be a high-quality brand. The Vitodens 100 has been redesigned in the last year or so. Apparently the early electronic circuit boards were not reliable and many of them have been replaced under warranty (I have heard the manufacturers acted very fairly). The F4 problerm seemed to happen a lot but we have not seen it on here recently so maybe that is your trouble (see http://search.diynot.com/forum_search.php?all=vitodens+f4&phrase=&any=&not=&intitle=&stype=0&sort=score&forum_id=7&datelimit=drop&since=any&author=&search=Search+Forum
yours is the only one in this forum in the last 3 months.

If you have any papers showing date of installation and a warranty card this may help. When installed by a Viessmann-trained installer you get a longer warranty. Their brochure says

"All Vitodens wall hung boilers have a
standard 3 year warranty on parts &
labour, which is increased to 5 years for
all boilers installed by Viessmann trained
installers. Completely free, with no
strings attached, this guarantee is
unrivalled in the industry"


They also have a ten-year warranty on the heat exchanger (which is Stainless Steel so unlikely to go wrong)

Your serial number will be on a bar-coded label which may be stuck to the top, side or bottom of your boiler, and should also be stuck to the instruction book. Date of installation may also be in the book.

With luck a Viessmann installer will be along later who knows more clearly if the F4 is related to the old PCB.

They are not very common so if you need a repair look for a trained local person on http://www.viessmann.co.uk/home_index.php
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
990chamber

from Canada

Joined: 30 Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Location: British Columbia,
Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 2:03 am Reply with quote

anybody know the status of service / warranty of the f4 error problem in, uh, Canada eh?

thanks
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ollski

from United Kingdom

Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4906
Location: Birmingham,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 55 times

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 7:10 am Reply with quote

The only f4 I have ever had on these has ended up being the pcb, which is the whole complete unit housing and all with a price tag to boot!. There was a change to the ignition unit which veissman would advise first so check power into that unit on ignition to see if it's receiving any.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
D_Hailsham

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 8454
Location: Sussex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 969 times

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 3:01 pm Reply with quote

990chamber wrote:
anybody know the status of service / warranty of the f4 error problem in, uh, Canada eh?

Does this help?

info@viessmann.ca

or


Viessmann Manufacturing Company Inc.

750 McMurray Road
Waterloo
ON N2V 2G5
Canada

Tel. (519) 885-6300
Tel. (800) 387-7373 (Toll-Free)
Fax (519) 885-0887
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
holty

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 5048
Location: Cornwall,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 777 times

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 6:16 pm Reply with quote

could be board or ignition module.worth ringing viessmann on most warrenty calls.if pcb i also replace the ignition module, as these were dogs.should be getting around 300vdc at the ignition module from pcb.this being the old 100 wb1a.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Bunnyman

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 3443
Location: Northamptonshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 975 times

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:39 pm Reply with quote

Common fault f4 ignition transformer fault viessmann changed loads
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Agile

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 51901
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3222 times

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 12:22 am Reply with quote

Its virtually always the ignition unit.

But there is no test you can do apart from replacing it.

On the seven Viessmann 100s that I have installed, most have failed within 1-10 weeks.

I have been told that very rarely it can be caused by the PCB but I have no firm evidence of ANY which were really the PCB. Just a less knowledgeable engineer who replaced the PCB first.

Tony
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
holty

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 5048
Location: Cornwall,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 777 times

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 1:01 am Reply with quote

you can test dc voltage to gen at least .your right though most common fault.had one 2 week ago jammy slapper caused f5 fault sorted. till cycling.on older boards f4 did not show .basically pcb.green ignition module also.lucky b*****r.bought it off ebay 500,still under warrentry.so he was happy as.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Agile

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 51901
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3222 times

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 1:14 am Reply with quote

All the faulty ignition modules that I have ever seen have been grey.

The new ones are black.

I did see a red one on a five year old 100 but that was an F5 fault.

Tony
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
holty

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 5048
Location: Cornwall,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 777 times

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 1:22 am Reply with quote

yeah your right agile it was grey:oops: was thinking of the similar module off the halstead eden cbx. which is greenish.it is late icon_lol.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Viessman Vitodens 300 Error codes 4 2500 Fri Mar 19, 2010 7:26 pm
fault code f5 on Viessman Vitodens 100 32 6400 Sun Nov 28, 2010 9:30 pm
Viessman Vitodens 100 with Santon cylinder - no hot water 6 120 Tue May 06, 2014 2:00 pm
VIESSMAN VITODENS 200W(35kW), ATAG E32C or VAILLANT 837 ? 39 12760 Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:26 am
Viessman vitodens 100 hot water but no heating 2 40 Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:15 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.