House electrics keep tripping

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Im no electrician but I have had a guy wire up an 8kw rated electric powered central heating boiler and it is apparently wired on a seperate circuit, so why does it keep tripping the whole house?
It does not trip the MCB rated at 32 by the way that it is apparently wired to.
I live in Spain.

Sponsored Links
Does it trip every time?
Might be a poor connection

Im not an electrian

Just keeps tripping

What keeps tripping? An RCD? Does it trip every time the boiler fires? If so, it's likely that the spark has taken the neutral into the wrong neutral bar. However, as you've not given us a lot to chew on and I know nothing about Spanish regulations (are there any?! :LOL: ) then there's not a lot more I can tell you.

Sponsored Links
What is the device that trips then?
What is written on it?

If it is an RCD there is probably an earth fault somewhere. Either the heater or the wiring.

Need to be there really, where in Spain is this?
Can you fly me there?
Do you have a pool?
Can I stay for a couple of weeks?

:LOL:

there is a trip switch i guess you call it called an MCB rated at 32. This is meant to be for the boiler and does not trip but the house does.
The sparky told me the electric boiler was wired to a seperate circuit so I dont understand why the house is tripping and not the trip switch he put in for the boiler.

If the whole house is 'tripping' and not the boiler MCB then it'll probably be the RCB tripping due to an earth fault, as already suggested.

Not sure- but a guess !!

Does your fuse box have a unit with a 'test' before the MCB, and is it that that is tripping ?

If so, it's an RCD unit and they are designed to trip on a L-> E fault.

When does the trip happen ?

Random
On boiler cut off (thermostat turning off system, on timer off time).

Because your in Spain it would have been better to post in Electrics (outside UK).

What make of electric boiler is it ?