Garage/room extension wiring questions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

I’ve just had a garage and room extension built and it’s now ready for the first fix and I’m after your advice on some electrical wiring questions please.

1. Can I run wires in myself? This is just to try and save money obviously I’ll need it testing to part P and passing off. (I’m an electrician but work on aircraft, educated (1993) to the IEE 16th edition. I’m not JIB registered.)

2. My consumer unit is in my kitchen, and I plan on passing the cables through the wall into the new garage, wiring the garage then passing the cables through another wall into the new room at the back of the house. What’s best to pass these cables through the walls, should they be in conduit?

3. The garage is going to be wired in PVC conduit and metal clad boxes, in single cores. Can I continue the ring main from the garage into the new room at the back but changing to twin and earth cable in the room, via a junction box’s? Am I right in thinking this is now not allowed?

4. Switch drops in the room are going to be behind plaster board, these have to be in some kind of mechanical protection like a PVC channel, is this also the case for horizontal cable?

Thanks

Andy

Sponsored Links
It will all depend what was put on your application to LABC. If you have said your doing electrics then likely covered in fee paid. But if they expected a registered electrician they may want a further fee.

At £100 plus council fee the cheap option will depend on if you have to pay extra fee or not.

There is no real reason why a ring should be limited to garage. There is a max area covered but you are unlikely to exceed that.