Please help with my mixer shower- runs hot then cold

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

I am a complete plumbing novice but hopefully I can give you enough info to help me out.

I live in a 3rd floor flat, I have a combi boiler (a vokera compact 24) and my shower is a mixer system (a previous plumber called it a Bristan).

The shower runs hot then cold constantly, gradually changing from luke warm/cold to scalding every few seconds.

I had a plumber out for a different issue and asked for his advise on the shower, he said that it was either the thermostat within the mixer unit which was faulty or it was because I have "mixed pressures". He advised running the hot tap whilst showering to see if that solved the problem. This hasn't helped.

My question is does it sounds like I need to:

A) buy a new mixer shower? - in which case can I just remove the existing unit from the wall and replace it with a new one or is it more complicated than that?

B) would a new shower not fix the problem? In which case might it be something I can have looked at in the boiler? I read somewhere online about a similar problem being caused by a "fault heat exchanger".

Any help would be much appreciated before I fork out money on a new shower/plumber to find out it has made on difference.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Kind regards,

Heather

Sponsored Links
Your boiler has a different system to the ones you were reading about.

It may be an interaction between the boiler and shower hence the suggestion of running a hot tap as well.

Having mixed pressures is never a good idea and may be involved.

Can you identify the hot water output pipe under the boiler and feel this while running the shower? See if it goes hot/cold as well.

These can sometimes be difficult issues to resolve.

Bristan is a very helpful UK based company and might have some suggestions or may send you a new mixer cartridge.

You are so lucky you dont have a Triton as they are VERY unhelpful.

Tony