DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Ferroli requires new PCB


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jeremyf71

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Location: Herefordshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:00 am Reply with quote

Hi, I need to replace the PCB on my Ferroli Optimax 901. Is it a straight swap or does the new circuit board need to be tweaked or setup?

Thanks

Jeremy
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Agile

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 51194
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3126 times

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:21 am Reply with quote

Why do you think it needs changing?


Tony
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
jeremyf71

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Location: Herefordshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:31 am Reply with quote

It's been on the way out for some time. The fan relay or some circuitry driving the relay is failing. I have now wedged the fan relay open so it runs all the time. If I don't do this I get some major arcing (buzzing) between the relay contacts which last a few minutes before melting.

The fan runs all day to allow HW/CH and I switch the boiler mains off last thing at night and back on again in the morning to avoid burning out the fan motor. Embarrasingly, I've been doing this since Christmas.

At some time, I have re soldered dry joints on the board too so its probably about time I replaced it?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Agile

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 51194
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3126 times

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:36 am Reply with quote

I have done that as a temporary repair for someone who was not sure if he wanted to repair or replace the boiler while he made up his mind.

But that was last year and I have not heard from him since.

Oddly I suspect its still like that!

I think he is seperated from the wife and probably short of money after paying for her.

I dont think there are any gas settings on the PCB but you should look to see what pots it has.

Tony
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
jeremyf71

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Location: Herefordshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 6:04 am Reply with quote

Thanks. Have fitted new PCB and a its fixed the fan issues. There is a pot on the board for CH burner pressure which was set half way. The instructions says default should be max. The burners wont light if its not on max and even when its on max there is an alarming delay of 30 seconds or more after the gas valve light is on before the burners light - especially when it hasen't been on over night - this is using CH demand. The pilot light seems ok but has been known to go out over night with the boiler switched off. This issue was present before the new PCB but possibly not so noticeable.
I'll get the boiler serviced soon but want my eyes open to the possible fault.

Thanks again

jeremy
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Paul Barker

from United Kingdom

Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 8722
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 562 times

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:21 am Reply with quote

The delayed ignition might be due to poor spreading across the burner strips cheap nasty boilers are diabolic for such design issues.

There is no ignition pressure adjuystment pot on the pcb. It probably lights for central heating on minimum pressure. When your competent person comes they would need to clean pilot jet, disassemble the burner aray thoroughly clean the jets and the venturi/burner assemblies, probably best cleaned under the tap, jets best cleaned with ultrasonic cleaner.

They would make sure minimum and maximum bp is perfect for G20 3mb and 15mb.

then it should be quite possible to range rate the CH using P1 where minimum is 12kw at 3mb maximum is 28kw at 15mb.

Most houses in the UK 12kw is adequate, 18kw still reasonable, greater; wasteful.

Range rating and ignition failure ought not to be related.
Back to top
The following user says thank you to Paul Barker for this useful post:
jeremyf71 (12 Apr 2010)
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Trainee plumber requires work 4 540 Thu Nov 06, 2008 1:35 pm
No hot water novice requires your help 3 300 Sun Feb 01, 2009 12:57 pm
Heating of hot water requires CH to be on. 3 740 Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:40 am
Biasi 24S - Inconsistently Requires Resetting 2 500 Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:05 pm
Potterton Suprima 80 requires resetting 3 8360 Fri Apr 15, 2005 1:14 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.