No hot water - 2-port valve opening but boiler not called

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Brethren,

Now that the weather is warmer and the central heating is no longer activating the boiler I have lost my hot water.

The thermostat on the hot water cylinder clicks if I turn it right down so I assume that is working, the timer on the programmer is active for hot water, in fact the 2-port motorised valve is definitely opening because if I force on the central heating then I eventually get hot water. That's not ideal though in this warm weather!

The only thing missing that I can determine is that the central programmer does not request the boiler to fire up.

I'm not experienced in the wiring output layout from the central programmer but I know my way round a multimeter so can do some pin-out checks if necessary if advised. The programmer is a Honeywell, details of which are at home. It has a separate twice/once/continuous/off option for heating and hot water. I tried resetting the programmer with the pinhole switch but this hasn't fixed the problem.

Any suggestions?

thanks

Sponsored Links
Probably the microswitch in the hot water 2 port valve. The microswitch operates when the valve is open and turns on the pump and boiler, except in your case it isn't.

When the central heating operates, that valve turns on the pump and boiler and so if the hot water valve is already open that comes on too.

If you are competent to check with a multimeter (with the central heating set 'off' and the hot water 'on') the grey and orange wires to the hot water motorised valves should both be live. If one is live and one isn't the microswitch isn't working. A new valve head should fix it.

With the info you've given I'd be looking at the hot water valve not making the end switch - if that's the case a new actuator will solve it, if the valve spindle is seized then a complete valve would be reqd.

OK guys, that's great info and I will investigate tonight.