Washing Machine in very close proximity to Combi boiler.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I'm a plumber, looking for some Gas advice. I'm NOT Gas safe/Corgi registered.

I have a customer who wants me to install a washing machine into the cupboard which houses his boiler. There is very little clearance sideways between the washing machine and cupboard sides. The machine would stick out the front of the cupboard (no front door to it). It would be a matter of an inch or two beneath his combi boiler. I don't know the exact clearances, but a stopcock at floor level will need moving, so I know it's very tight.

Seems to me a vibrating washing machine vibrating the cupboard sides is dangerous if there's gas in the immediate proximity - ie. vibrating the boiler or its supply pipes.

I've looked for bldg regs etc to no avail; rung my local council housing/planning dept and got the usual chocolate fireguard response; just rung the Gas Safe helpline for advice on gas matters and been told that the only thing he can think of is boiler manufacturers guidance on clearance for maintenance, but as the washing machine is removable this isn't an issue. He said he'd never seen any rules governing the proximity of washing machines to boilers.

The customer has a perfectly good site for a washing machine, but is resisting my advice to have it in the normal place, next to his sink.

I'm hoping for some rules/regs which say his plans aren't legal. He's a stickler for the rules, so will then happily acquiesce and leave it where it is. This has come about as part of a new kitchen. The boiler is in the old kitchen, in the room next door.

I should also point out the customer has already screwed wooden blocks to the wall to stop the washing machine touching all the pipes to the boiler, and built up a similar platform on the floor, hence his resistance to advice that it's a crap idea.

Can anyone help?
Thanks in advance,
Jim.

Sponsored Links